top of page

Open Sights

Thursday, ‎September ‎17, ‎2020 Good morning, Lord V.O.D.: Sow for yourselves righteousness; reap in mercy; break up your fallow ground, for it is time to seek the Lord, till He comes and rains righteousness on you.—Hosea 10:12 M.O.M.: The night is far spent, the day is at hand. Therefore let us cast off the works of darkness, and let us put on the armor of light.—Romans 13:12 Today's reading: Proverbs 30-31 2 Corinthians 11:1-15

Open Sights

I took a walk with my .22 rifle out on a friend's creek on the ranch to see how our new dog reacted to the sound of gunfire. When she didn't flinch at the first shot I found a live oak tree with a limb low enough for me to rest the rifle on and 'sight-in' with several rounds. The gun has open sights and no scope and I had not shot that old gun in years so I wanted to see how true it shoots.

I rested the gun on the horizontal limb and found a small rock in a tree root on the opposite bank of the creek as a target.

I had to find the right spot to steady the gun so each shot would be as consistent as possible. I had to aim carefully with as steady a hand as I could muster. I had to 'squeeze' and not pull the trigger. I had to adjust the sights. I had to aim at the same spot with each shot. (I fired off several rounds and looked down and the dog was asleep at my feet.)

A gun properly 'sighted-in' gives a man confidence when shooting at small varmints that cause problems.

Hold it. (screeching halt) The gun was not the point. The dog's reaction to gunfire was the point of this little excursion and I got so wrapped up in hitting the target, I missed the goal.

We get so wrapped up in all the stuff around us that we forget what we are doing. What are we doing? We are to be about our Father's work.

We are supposed to keep our tools in good shape and our eyes sharp and our focus steady but these things are not the 'end'. They are only 'means to an end'. The 'end' is the main purpose for our lives. So, what is the main purpose of a Christian's life?

Our main purpose has been stated this way:"Knowing Him and making Him known". Here are some scriptures for this: John 8 :28 So Jesus said, "When you have lifted up the Son of Man, then you will know that I am he and that I do nothing on my own but speak just what the Father has taught me. 29 The one who sent me is with me; he has not left me alone, for I always do what pleases him." John 12:32 And I, if I am lifted up from the earth, will draw all peoples to Myself.”

For us to lift Jesus up to draw all people to Him is for us to love Him and to love the people and to know as we please Him we are never alone.

While we sight in on a target or goal, it is easy to lose focus on the reality of our lives. Jesus is the way, the truth and the life. Without Him as our focus we are just seeking some temporary stimulation.

Seek His righteousness and kingdom first-above all else-keep the main thing the main thing.

...because He loves us...

Father in Heaven, I let myself get do easily distracted. Forgive me and, Holy Spirit, teach me to focus. Merciful Father and loving guide. In the name of Jesus, Amen

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page