top of page

Life By Grace

Monday, ‎September ‎14, ‎2020 Good morning, Lord V.O.D.: Philippians 2:1-2 New King James Version Therefore if there is any consolation in Christ, if any comfort of love, if any fellowship of the Spirit, if any affection and mercy, fulfill my joy by being like-minded, having the same love, being of one accord, of one mind. M.O.M.: The night is far spent, the day is at hand. Therefore let us cast off the works of darkness, and let us put on the armor of light.—Romans 13:12 Today's reading: Proverbs 22-24 2 Corinthians 8

Life By Grace Through Faith

Paul writes in Galatians 2: 19 “For through the law I died to the law so that I might live for God. 20 I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. 21 I do not set aside the grace of God, for if righteousness could be gained through the law, Christ died for nothing!

Paul tells us we cannot 'go around' the grace of God. We cannot set it aside or ignore it. We are made right 'by' the grace of God. Righteousness is by God and God alone. We can walk in righteousness only if we walk in Christ by faith.

If we spend our lives trying to be something, either good or righteous, we have an honorable goal but it cannot be done. But the truth is, some people spend a lifetime trying to be good enough for God just because they want to prove it can be done. Then, when asked if they think they will go to Heaven, they answer, "I hope so".

Paul says that he does not set the grace of God aside. Does that mean that he makes sure that the grace of God is the center of all he does? Yes. If we try anything, it should be trying to keep the grace of God-the death of Jesus-the perfect sacrifice for us-God's unending, unconditional love for us-all these in our focus instead of performance rated righteousness.

Acts 26:18 18 to open their eyes and turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan to God, so that they may receive forgiveness of sins and a place among those who are sanctified by faith in me.’

Faith in Him-not faith in self-He sanctifies us-sets us apart day by day by the focus of faith-focus on Him-abiding in Him.

Away from all the big words, this, says that Jesus is still the way, the truth, and the life. Apart from the life given to us by grace from God in Christ Jesus, the world runs from the truth. We must live in Jesus so, wherever they run, they will run into the truth.

...because He loves us...

Father in Heaven, Forgive me for trying to be good enough for You. Teach me to depend on Your goodness-to depend on You and not me so the world can see Jesus in me. Fill me with your righteousness this day that I may be found faithful for Your glory and good pleasure. I must become less... Merciful God of grace and righteousness! In the name of Christ Jesus, Amen

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page