top of page

In Your Own Eyes


Tuesday, September 8, 2020 Good morning, Lord V.O.D.: Psalm 143:10 New King James Version Teach me to do Your will, For You are my God; Your Spirit is good. Lead me in the land of uprightness. M.O.M.: Psalm 27:13 I remain confident of this: I will see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living. Today's reading: Proverbs 6-7 2 Corinthians 2

In Your Own Eyes

Do you think you are intelligent-more than some less than others? Are you at the top of your game? Do folks come to you for advice? Is this a point of pride for you?

Proverbs 3: 5 Trust in the Lord with all your heart And do not lean on your own understanding. 6 In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He will make your paths straight. 7 Do not be wise in your own eyes; Fear the Lord and turn away from evil. 8 It will be healing to your body And refreshment to your bones.

Trust the Lord for understanding-understanding of what? All things-acknowledge the fact that God knows it-whatever it is-God already has the answer. He always has had the answers. While we study and work and claw our way to the 'right to be proud', God has 'long-suffered' us-had patience with us-waiting for the time when any would turn and acknowledge Him.

It is always good to do good. To learn as much as we can to help make life around us better is good. But always remember: Psalm 127:1 ► Unless the LORD builds the house, the builders labor in vain. Unless the LORD watches over the city, the guards stand watch in vain. Psalm 23: 2 He makes me lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside quiet waters. 3 He restores my soul; He guides me in the paths of righteousness For His name’s sake.

For His name's sake-not ours does God do any of this. Yes, He loves us and all He does is for us but it is for His kingdom and His righteousness that we endeavor to live and be led by His hand.

Proverbs 3:13 How blessed is the man who finds wisdom And the man who gains understanding.

As we learn to take up our crosses and follow Christ, we learn that the scripture is given to us as a living thing-alive for us only when we are in it and it is in us. The longer we live in the Word, the more we grow into His wisdom.

Years ago, I loved to watch what we called 'm-bus' movies-'mindlessly blowing up stuff'. We have all seen at least a trailer of great explosions and mayhem-you know, usual 'guy' stuff. It may seem like escape to some but those images can't really be constructive in the long term.

After years of reading the Bible over and over and reading and re-reading the old testament where whole armies are destroyed in a night, I have found myself not enjoying the sight of even staged destruction. It gives me that weightless, roller-coaster 'yuc' feeling in my stomach. That feeling is extended into any time I see someone treated cruelly or inhumanely.

You can say that I have just outgrown some things, but I know what has happened. The holy Spirit has replaced my thrill for watching 'm-bus' with a love for 'still waters'.

It's like foul language-the Lord takes away the need to be foul if we allow Him. But the enemy fights this. The language gets more foul everyday but the masses do not seem to care while my stomach rolls when I hear it.

It is healing and refreshing to fear the Lord and turn from evil when we do it for His name's sake-for God's purposes-for His kingdom.

But we still will fall when we start feeling wise in our own eyes. We can never get comfortable with our own righteousness-it is His righteousness and never a point of pride for ourselves.

The minute I get wise in my own eyes-or proud that bad language makes me sick-that's when I find myself in the middle of judging someone for that language and that is simply sin. My heart should be hurting for them at that point-hurting for them to be free from the enemy's chains.

Proud of yourself? Wise in your own eyes? Think you're smart? Proverbs 16:18 18 Pride goes before destruction, And a haughty spirit before stumbling.

How do you look in your own eyes?

The Lord wants us to be free in green pastures and beside still waters...

...because He loves us...

Father in Heaven, Guide me to guard my heart and give me great love for Your Word and Your Righteousness. Forgive me my pride. Loving God of mercy and peace and wisdom. In the name of Jesus Christ, Amen

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page