top of page

Endearing


Thursday, ‎August ‎6, ‎2020

Good morning, Lord

V.O.D.: Psalm 119:160 The entirety of Your word is truth, And every one of Your righteous judgments endures forever.

M.O.M.: Psalm 27:13 I remain confident of this: I will see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living.

Today's reading: PSALM 72-73 ROMANS 9:1-15

Endearing

Endearing-inspiring love or affection.

1 Timothy 2:3 NIV

I thank God, whom I serve, as my ancestors did, with a clear conscience, as night and day I constantly remember you in my prayers. 4 Recalling your tears, I long to see you, so that I may be filled with joy. 5 I am reminded of your sincere faith...

How often do you encourage someone in their faith? Paul wrote to Timothy as one would write to a son. He wrote with such love and affection. I wonder how many of us have ever tried to do this. Our ladies have always been better in expressing love for others but Paul shows us this does not have to be so.

All of us can express ourselves if we work on it. Try a few words in a text or a card or an email to someone who needs the help. Attempt this over and over. It gets easier.

Why? Why write words of affection and encouragement? One great reason is that we read it in scripture and modeling our behavior after these great hearts of faith is a good thing.

Building friendship is a worthy goal. We are all to fellowship in the body of Christ and expressing love for others is part of that fellowship.

But-others need encouragement. Our friends need real words of real love from our hearts.

I get it. Many folks do not know how to express themselves and this has been encouraged by our post-modernistic world. We are to 'play our cards close to the chest' and keep people wondering, says the world. 'Gentleness shows weakness', says the enemy.

The world has come full-circle in the last sixty years or so from 'peace and love' to 'chaos and hate'. We have seen reconstruction after wars in the past but now the warring segment of our world seems to have no desire to rebuild anything but perpetual hate.

The work starts with each of our hearts. We must pray for God's love to overflow from our lives. When we read the words, "My cup runneth over", that should say to us that we have much to share with the needy around us.

God wants our cups to run over. Jesus said, "So your joy may be full", John 15:11. Why are our lives not running over? Why are we not loving our neighbors as ourselves?

The lack of encouragement or lack of expression of love is because we are turned so inward. We throw the word 'narcissism' around as if we do not have a problem with it ourselves....

It is time to wake up and look outward. Our struggles may seem to never stop but neither do the troubles of others---but---the love of Jesus Christ and the power of the Holy Spirit is in our lives to see out of self and have never-ending, compassion for people around us is real.

John 16:33 ►"I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world."

John 14:27-Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you, not as the world gives-I give to you.

Confess it. Get over yourself and tell God you want the desire to love and encourage and He will not fail. All of us can do so much more than we do-so much more.

"Love your neighbor as you love your self"-Jesus-from Mark 12:31.

Love God-Love yourself-love the people in the world-encourage from a cup running over. Be endearing...

...because He loves us...

Father in Heaven,

I am self-centered. I want to be God centered. Grow this desire in me so I can encourage and love in Your name,

Great God of encouragement!

In the name of Jesus,

Amen

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page