top of page

Goodness And Mercy


Saturday, ‎July ‎18, ‎2020 Good morning, Lord V.O.D.: For who in the heavens can be compared to the Lord? Who among the sons of the mighty can be likened to the Lord? God is greatly to be feared in the assembly of the saints, and to be held in reverence by all those around Him.—Psalm 89:6,7 M.O.M.: Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. John 14:27 Today's reading: PSALM 23-25 ACTS 21:18-40

Goodness and Mercy

"I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever". We call attention to this the last statement in the twenty-third Psalm because it is, I believe, the greatest statement of faith a believer can make in this life. This is not a statement made in boast but in gladness. It can only be made by those who know Christ Jesus in the personal relationship God offers to all. It is a cause for rejoicing in the personal heart that cannot be faked or contrived. This joy only exists for true believers.

So where is the celebration of this joy in the body of Christ today? This is a very simple question. Where is the joy? This kind of joy would not be hidden. This joy can be readily seen wherever it really exists.

Before you leave this reading with anxiety, we need to look at what Jesus said and what joy means. Before His crucifixion and resurrection, Jesus said in John 16:22. "22 So also you have sorrow now, but I will see you again and your hearts will rejoice, and no one will take away your joy."

This joy is translated as a 'source of calm delight'. Calm delight? And not just calm delight but the 'source' of calm delight. Here, again, is the importance of our staying connected to the 'source' by consistent personal worship. Remember the old hymn 'Blessed Assurance'? "Blessed assurance, Jesus is mine..." "This is my story, this is my song..."

The line just before "I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever" says, "Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life". A more thorough translation of mercy comes out 'steadfast love'. "Goodness and 'steadfast love shall follow me all the days of my life."

In Christ-and if you are in Christ, you know it-the Spirit of our living God lives in you. He is your source of 'calm delight'. His goodness and steadfast love never leaves us.

So, someone who is walking with Jesus is not someone who necessarily celebrates non-stop outwardly, but someone who is at peace before God while in the world. The child of God in Christ is one who faces pain and struggle with confident peace knowing that that inner peace will not go away-no matter what is happening on the outside-the Lord holds the inside.

I am well aware that this assurance is not easy for many. This peace fades with guilt and sin. It should be common sense to the believer. When we sin and do not confess, guilt hides peace. It does not destroy our peace, it hides it-separates us from it.

Paul writes in Second Corinthians, chapter 5, "18 All this is from God, who through Christ reconciled us to himself and gave us the ministry of reconciliation;"

To reconcile means to 'make right'. We are in a ministry of working to see folks made right with God. How can we do that if we are not good at getting right with God ourselves?

So-get right and keep getting right with God. Practice the presence of God!

...because He loves us...

Father in Heaven, I procrastinate-I put off confession-forgive me. I ask You keep me keenly aware of Your righteousness and my need to be right with You. Merciful and restoring God! In the name of Jesus, Amen

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page