top of page

Pray 'Til You Pray

Friday, ‎May ‎1, ‎2020 Good morning, Lord V.O.D.: Hebrews 11:6 But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him. M.O.M.: And they said to one another, "Did not our heart burn within us while He talked with us on the road, and while He opened the Scriptures to us?" —Luke 24:32 Today's reading: 1 Kings 12-13 Luke 22:1-30

Pray 'Til You Pray

An old preacher once told the young man, "You just need to pray 'til you pray". Give that a think....

Pray 'til you pray? Millions of people stop and pray-but what do we pray? How many 'our Father's' have we prayed over 2000 years. How many times have we repeated words and not thought about what the words actually say? Or, how many times have we prayed the prayers and not felt anything or, worse, did not think about actually talking to God when we did it?

We set up youth camp(the 80's) and the Lord gave me an idea-it was not original, I'm sure I heard it somewhere but God put it in my heart-so-we had 600 young people stopping in the middle of all activities and praying on the hour and on the half-hour-sports-classes-lunch-even worship-imagine that-stopping in the middle of the preacher's message and praying. It was, for most, a big, big change.

The 'thank you for this day' can go so far every thirty minutes. This forced people to be serious about 'prayer thought'. It makes a heart get serious about talking to God or be in denial every half-hour. Facing reality in truth in front of God twice an hour.Someone rang the bell at all given times and all reached for the closest hand to hold and prayed out loud.

We had young people coming face to face with God-some for the first time-some of the adults for the first time actually actually prayed seriously. People prayed until they really prayed. All pretense was abandoned and people talked to God. Empty words and repetition became embarrassingly trivial.

Here is the challenge for one week-only one week. From the time you get up for 4 hours each day, pray on the hour and on the half hour.

One big Christian leader said to me, "That is too leagalistic-scheduling prayer". I said, "You schedule everything else...why not prayer?"

Most of our days are scheduled. You even know when you favorite TV show comes on, etc, etc.

I bet you cannot do it. I bet you won't try. I bet you won't email me back and tell me how wrong I am...

With all that is going on, we need to pray 'til we pray. We must know that this scripture is true.

Hebrews 11:6 But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.

Our reward here is full joy in Him. Is this worth a try or not?

...because He loves us...

Father in Heaven, I am not consistent with prayer. Show me Your heart. I am listening. Merciful and personal friend, my Holy God... In the name of Jesus, Amen

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page