top of page

Walking In Truth


Monday, December 7, 2020 GML

Good Morning, Lord

V.O.D.: John 14:6 New King James Version

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.

M.O.M.: Ephesians 4:31

31 Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with all malice.(English Standard Version)

Today's reading: DANIEL 8-10 3 JOHN



Walking in Truth



The book of Third John starts like this:


1 The elder to the beloved Gaius, whom I love in truth.


2 Beloved, I pray that all may go well with you and that you may be in good health, as it goes well with your soul. 3 For I rejoiced greatly when the brothers came and testified to your truth, as indeed you are walking in the truth. 4 I have no greater joy than to hear that my children are walking in the truth.


It sounds like an 'old-fashioned letter'. He tells the receiver that he truly loves him. Then he says that he hopes that things go as well in Gaius' body as in his soul.


John loves Gaius and tells Him. They are brothers in Christ with the same mission-to know Christ and to make him known. Their common ground and joy is in Truth.



Joy in truth...no pretense-no falsehood of any kind.



There are friends we love to see. Those who are comfortable in their own skins are welcome, always. Those who are happy and strong.



But what about the needy people? We need always to be welcoming especially to those who may not 'feel' welcome. Folks need to feel the love in your heart. After all, it comes from God's heart first.



We must get past the initial 'common judgement' part and, in truth, love the 'hard to love' and the insecure. The people who came to Jesus were needy. When we came to Jesus, we were needy. The Bible gives accounts of Jesus meeting the needs of the needy.



Uncover the truth. Make your attitude an object of prayer. You don't have to condone a sin to love the sinner. You do have to see with the eyes of the Lord and that can only be done in His truth.



...because He loves us...



Father,

At all costs, let me walk in truth. Let me see with Your eyes and let Your love flow through me so folks can feel Your love in my life for Your glory. Forgive me my failures.

You, alone, are worthy!

In the name of Christ,

Amen


Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page