top of page

Thinking Of Me

‎Monday, ‎December ‎21, ‎2020

Good morning, Lord

V.O.D.:  The steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord, and He delights in his way. Though he fall, he shall not be utterly cast down; for the Lord upholds him with His hand. -Psalm 37:23-24

M.O.M.:  Ephesians 4:31

31 Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with all malice.(English Standard Version)

Today's reading:  MICAH 6-7 REVELATION 13



Thinking Of Me



One writer wrote this: "The first Christmas I remember was when I was three years old. My aunts and uncles came to visit, and when they opened the trunk of the car, I discovered that it was full of presents—and all of them were for me! I’m sure you, too, can recall memories from past Christmases, whether good or bad..."



I never saw a trunk load of presents just for me. I had a brother with whom I had to share toys and clothes and a room. I did, however, have presents under a tree and a family that loved me and always had plenty to eat.



The 'head-doctors' tell us of people who do crazy things because they are consumed with self and these folks are tagged as 'narcissistic'. My problem with this 'tag' is that it gives those of us who are narcissistic a reason to point the finger at those who are 'really narcissistic'. (Get the point?)



I asked for a pair of overalls. I got a weed eater. Yes, the weedeater was far more expensive than a pair of overalls but it was not what I had asked for. At that point in life, we did not have the resources to spend that much, so I was envious. Mind-knots-these happen when we live habitually consumed with self and have not gotten into the reality of meeting God everyday and meditating on Him and His word.



Call it narcissism if you like, but if we are not consumed with God, we will be consumed with what will make circumstances around self the best they can be and wind up a lot of times with 'mind-knots'. Argue if you will, but really peel it down and see why you do what you do. We want the very best for the ones we love. Why? Why don't you want the very best for your biggest enemy?



So, if we really want our circumstances to be the best, why is life really hard for some? Life does not have to be as hard as we make it-operative word being 'we'. We, us, me, I-it is all an individual choice. We may say we are not always thinking of 'me' but 'me' is always thinking.



What drives you? That is not a hard question. The problem is with being driven is that God leads-the devil drives.



All this is just to make us all think. No matter how righteous you think you are...there is always work to do. There is listening to the call of God. There is knowing God's voice.

John 10:27 ►My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.



In spite of what God does know about you, and He knows you, He still speaks and expects you-all of us-to listen and follow.



Remember the weedeater? The family member who gave me that is now gone on to Heaven. I wish I could sit with him and tell him how much I appreciated him and his quiet strength-but I was thinking of me.



This Christmas(or any season or day for that matter) when you can look someone in the eye and tell them something good about them. Ask the Lord to give you the strength to get through the 'feeling' awkward and find the good in folks and tell them about it.



Make a choice to get rid of the 'mind-knots.'(there is a reason it sounds like 'mine-not'.)



The gifts we give in God's love are the only real things we leave behind.



...because He loves us...



Father in Heaven,

Forgive me for thinking of me all the time. Train my mind to be on You and Your love.

Great God of Peace!

In the name of Jesus,

Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page