top of page

On What Do You Depend?

‎Friday, ‎April ‎15, ‎2022

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: 1 Corinthians 15:1, 3-4

Moreover, brethren, I declare to you the gospel which I preached to you, which also you received and in which you stand,

Memory of the Month: Romans 5:8

But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

Today's reading: 1 SAMUEL 27-29 LUKE 13:1-22



On What Do You Depend?



When we depend on our government and military, we get what the government and military can accomplish and this is never perfect.


When we depend on what we can do, we get what we can do and we sometimes fail.


When we put our trust in people, we get what people can do and are sometimes disappointed.


If we depend on a church's worship service to grow us spiritually, we may be looking in the wrong place.


(A.C. Dickenson said) "If we depend on prayer, we can get what God can do."



What can God do?



The better question is, "What does God do?"



God holds us in His hand and promises that nothing can pull us away from Him.


John 10:28 ►I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father's hand.


God lets us hear Him:


John 10:27-29 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me.


God gifts us with faith to believe:


Ephesians 2:8 For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— 9 not by works, so that no one can boast.


In Christ Jesus, God gives us eternal life:


John 10:28 I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand.


He gives us His perfect peace.


John 14:27 ►Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.


God gives us His perfect joy.


John 15:11 ►I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete.


He writes his laws inside us:

Hebrews 10:16 ►"This is the covenant I will make with them after that time, says the Lord. I will put my laws in their hearts, and I will write them on their minds."


God does the impossible:

Matthew 19:26 But Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”

Hebrews 3:13 But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called “Today,” so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness.



The reality of all this and so much more depends on our attention-our focus-our obedience. God will not empower the man He does not control. We are controlled only by our treasure. Today-every waking moment-pray that God is your treasure.

Matthew 6:21 ►for where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.



...because He loves us...



Father in Heaven,

Forgive me my weak focus and I pray God that my heart is consumed by You. I submit and die to self.

Merciful God and Father of complete love and joy and peace,

In the name of Jesus,

Amen



Comentários


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page