top of page

Look-See-Behold

Friday, September 6, 2024


Good morning, Lord


Verse of the Day:  John 14:23

23 Jesus answered, “All who love me will obey my teaching. My Father will love them. My Father and I will come to them and live with them.


Memory verse: Psalm 42:2(New American Bible )

"My soul thirsts for God, the living God. When can I enter and see the face of God?"


Today's reading: Proverbs 1-2 1 Corinthians 16


Look-See-Behold


I heard a pastor ask the question: "What if Christ came to your house to visit you...?


My attention was not on the rest of the article but on the original question. It is glaringly obvious to me that there is an elephant in the room-no disrespect implied-just using the world's vernacular. Do you get it?


Christ never 'just comes over'. He is always and already there. I know what the pastor meant and it was a great writing. But we must never treat the Holy Spirit as being separate from God and Christ. They are one and it is hard to wrap our heads around this truth. But we have the mind of Christ(1 Corinthians 2:16). He said He would never leave us. He said;


"And, lo, I am with you always."(Matthew 28:20)


The word 'lo' has been used always and I wish they had taken a little more effort way back before they used it. Why? Because 'lo' translates  'behold-look-see'.


Jesus said for us to look and see-look and see Him. One of our greatest problems, if not the greatest, is knowing-absolutely knowing-being conscious of the fact-that God is with us always. We must look and see the Lord in us every waking moment. He is our constant companion.


Why is this so hard for us? It is, I think for me anyway, because I lose constant consciousness of Him.


We see it in the media and read it in books-folks talk about 'being on their best behavior' when someone of importance is around.


Jesus is always 'around'. He is not an automobile we get into and drive when we need to get somewhere and then park it when we are done.


-He is never done with us-how can we be 'done with Him'?


See Christ-Look at Him-behold the meaning of His name in us. It is never ending and our consciousness of Him is so broken up.


We don't hold the keys-He holds the keys-all the keys.(Revelation 1:18)


Look-see-behold.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

So I can see Your glory and honor Your name, Give me Your bread for my understanding of You and Your kingdom. Keep from sin so my spiritual vision is clear and I can always see You. Forgive me for going to sleep.

Ever present counselor and awesome God,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen




Comentarios


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page