top of page

Is It True?

Wedesday, ‎July ‎13, ‎2022

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Command those who are rich in this present age not to be haughty, nor to trust in uncertain riches but in the living God, who gives us richly all things to enjoy.—1 Timothy 6:17

Memory verse: Romans 12:1: Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship.

Today's reading: PSALM 4-6 ACTS 17:16-34


Is It Really True?


One writer has written:

"We have turned our back on the breathtaking beauty of God and fallen in love with our shadow."


Is this really true? Before you judge the world, what would you base that judgement on? Would you base that judgement on the way the world seems to be spiraling out of control as shown on TV or the web or newspapers?


Or-would you base this judgement on your own 'shadow'? Our own shadow...the ground we cover...the lives we lead.


What is in our shadow? If the world could see everything hidden in your shadow, what would the world see? The greatest question is what does God see because He can see it all, all the time.


What does God see? In Psalm seven, David writes:

"O Lord my God, if I have done this,

if there is wrong in my hands,

4 if I have repaid my friend with evil

or plundered my enemy without cause,

5 let the enemy pursue my soul and overtake it,

and let him trample my life to the ground

and lay my glory in the dust.



Is there wrong in my hands? None of us are innocent all the time. I cannot speak for you but my glory is in the dust-heavy with foot traffic.


Although God forgives us when we repent as written in 1 John 1:9, it is best for me to see my glory in the dust all the time. It is not good at any point for us to seek our own glory in this world because we seek glory and not God. We are to give God the glory.

Psalm 46:10 “Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!”

Isaiah 42:8 "I am the Lord; that is my name; my glory I give to no other, nor my praise to carved idols."

"So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God. - 1 Corinthians 10:31"


"All this is for your benefit, so that the grace that is reaching more and more people may cause thanksgiving to overflow to the glory of God." - 2 Corinthians 4:15



We cannot be in love with our own shadow and love God the way we should. We should love ourselves for what God has done in us but we should seek to be in God's shadow.


1 Peter 5:6&7 6 "Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. 7 Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you."

Psalm 91:1 "He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will abide in the shadow of the Almighty."

Psalm 17:8 "Keep me as the apple of the eye;

Hide me in the shadow of Your wings."



Under God's wings, under His hand, in His shadow...we have so much in Him. So we must strive to stay there-in His shadow, under His wings, under His hand. In Christ, our glory may be in the dust but our hearts are protected by Him if we strive for obedience in love for Him.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

I worry too much about my own shadow and what it holds. Teach me to stay clean before You and in Your shadow.

God of all protection and grace!

In the name of Jesus,

Amen




Commentaires


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page