top of page

I Will Not Sleep

‎Sunday, ‎July ‎31, ‎2022

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Matthew 5:14,16

“You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden.

Memory verse: Romans 12:1: Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship.

Today's reading: PSALM 54-56 ROMANS 3


I Will Not Sleep


David was a man after God's own heart. 1 Samuel 13:14, Acts 13:22


This means that David was really seeking God's heart. It does not mean he was perfect-he wasn't. He loved God above all but David was a human being and human beings often disappoint those they love. He wanted to know what was in God's heart for himself and his people. He wanted to live in God's power and protection and dwell on God as much as was possible.


How serious are we about all this? How much do we want, individually, to know God's thoughts? How anxious are we to know God's plans for us?


David is quoted in Psalm 132:

“I will not go into my house

or lie down on my bed.

4 I will not sleep

or let my eyes rest,

5 until I find a home for the Lord,

a tent for the Mighty God of Jacob!”


Jacob is called 'the man who fought with God'. He wrestled all night with a divine figure and finally said, “I will not let you go. You must bless me.”Genesis 32:22-32


The Holy Spirit lives in us. We must be possessed by the resolve of Jacob and David-a resolve that says we will not let go-we will not rest-we will seek until we have heard from God and rest in His peace. This applies to each day of our lives-not just a one time thing.


But how do we get to that point from where we are? (For those who are there, forward this to one of the rest of us who are not.) Do you feel like you are standing at a distance and are not really in the fight? I remember standing on the sideline wanting in the game but being afraid at the same time.


What was I afraid of? Was it making a mistake and getting dressed down by the coach? God never dresses us down. The Holy Spirit in our conscience always lets us know when we are in the wrong but it is always calling us to righteousness. 1 John 1:9-If we confess our sin He is faithful and just to forgive us and cleanse us...


Was it just laziness that caused my fear? Was I afraid I was going to have to work too hard? God never calls us without supply. Philippians 4:19 ►And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.


Whatever reason we can come up with for not getting in the game, God has the answer and will always go before us and stay with us through defeat as well as victory. “For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline.”

—2 Timothy 1:7

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.”

—Deuteronomy 31:6

We encourage each other by how much we want the Lord in our lives.

Hebrews 3:13

But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called “today,” so that none of you are hardened by the deceitfulness of sin.


It is today...this is the time...


...because He loves us...


Our Father in Heaven,

Lord, make this resolve a reality in my heart:

I will not rest; I will not let go. Let me see Your face and hear Your voice and walk in Your peace and power. My heart cries for You to empower me to share Your peace in the love of Christ Jesus.

All honor and glory are Yours, Mighty God.

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page