top of page

I Will Not Sleep

‎Tuesday, ‎August ‎31, ‎2021

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Psalm 95:6-7

6 Come, let us worship Him. Everyone bow down;

kneel before the Eternal who made us.

7 For He is our God

and we are His people, the flock of His pasture,

His sheep protected and nurtured by His hand.

Today, if He speaks, hear His voice.


Memory of the Month: Proverbs 15:1-A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.

Today's reading: PSALM 132-134 1 CORINTHIANS 11:17-34



I Will Not Sleep


David was a man after God's own heart. God had that recorded for us in 1 Samuel 13:14, Acts 13:22


This means that David was really seeking God's heart. It does not mean he was perfect-he wasn't. He wanted to know what is in God's heart for himself and his people. He wanted to live in God's power and protection and dwell on God as much as was possible.


How serious are we about all this? How much do we want, individually, to know God's thoughts? How anxious are we to know God's plans for us?


David is quoted in Psalm 132: “I will not go into my house

or lie down on my bed.

4 I will not sleep

or let my eyes rest,

5 until I find a home for the Lord,

a tent for the Mighty God of Jacob!”


Jacob is called 'the man who fought with God'. He wrestled all night with a divine figure and finally said, “I will not let you go. You must bless me.”Genesis 32:22-32


The Holy Spirit lives in us. We must be possessed by the resolve of Jacob and David-a resolve that says we will not let go-we will not rest-we will seek until we have heard from God and rest in His peace. This applies to each day of our lives-not just a one time thing.


It is time...



...because He loves us...



Our Father in Heaven,

Lord, make this resolve a reality in my heart:

I will not rest; I will not let go. Let me see Your face and hear Your voice and walk in Your peace and power. My heart cries for You to empower me to share Your peace in the love of Christ Jesus. All honor and glory are Yours, Mighty God.

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen




Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page