top of page

Defining Moments

‎Tuesday, ‎December ‎1, ‎2020

Good Morning, Lord

V.O.D.: John 1:1-2, 14 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God. And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father, full of grace and truth.

M.O.M.: Ephesians 4:31

31 Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with all malice.(English Standard Version)

Today's reading: EZEKIEL 42-44 1 JOHN 1



Defining Moments



There are a few times in my life that I could pinpoint as defining moments. The day I surrendered to the Lord was when I woke up seeing more clearly than I had ever seen. I could see a fork in the road. I could feel the weight of God sitting on my chest. I slithered to the foot of my bed and got on my knees...



There was the time I was in the seminary library reading and I read Matthew chapter 22, verses 37 through 40 where it says we are to love God with all we are. God raised this off the page and wrapped it around my whole being. I had to confess to God right then that I did not love Him the way the scripture said and then asked God to put me in the place where I wanted to love Him with everything. God's love and acceptance covered my feeling of unworthiness.



The small frame of a woman rested under the hospital bed-blanket in a half fetal position. I told her I was the chaplain and asked if she wanted me to pray. She saw my hands together as I motioned to pray and she understood enough english to know I was a pastor and said, "Si", and I prayed. When I was finished, before I knew what was happening, with her tiny, venerable hands she reached for my hand, pulled it to her face and gently kissed it. In her tradition the hand of the priest is kissed out of respect and honor.



I thanked her and left the room as quickly as I could because I did not want her to see my tears.



Feeling unworthy is huge.



Have you had a humbling experience lately? While we must move into the 'solid food' of the word of God, Hebrews 5, I believe that we must approach each reading of the scripture as if it is our first time with child-like expectancy.


1 Peter 5:All of you, clothe yourselves with humility toward one another, because,

“God opposes the proud but shows favor to the humble.”

6 Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. 7 Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.



Step out of your self-the self that worries and and expects the world to have answers. Let go of the world's false security and humble yourself at Jesus' feet. Don't expect anything less than God Himself to meet you there. Be still and know that He is God.



...because He loves us...



Father in Heaven,

Forgive me my pretense-my false face-let Your peace be seen! You, alone, are worthy of any praise. Teach me how to depend on you entirely.

Holy, holy, holy are You -Lord God, almighty!!

In Christ Jesus' Name

Amen





Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page