top of page

Better Days

Saturday, September 7, 2024


Good morning, Lord


Verse of the Day:  Colossians 1:28

28 So we continue to tell people about Christ. We use all wisdom to counsel every person and teach every person. We are trying to bring everyone before God as people who have grown to be spiritually mature in Christ.


Memory verse: Psalm 42:2(New American Bible )

"My soul thirsts for God, the living God. When can I enter and see the face of God?"


Today's reading: Proverbs 3-5 2 Corinthians 1


Better Days


I want to thank all of you who faithfully follow Christ and I want to thank you who read these devotionals everyday. And it is because of you , I think sometimes, maybe I need to explain what this is and why I do it.


My ministry has always been about leading folks to a knowledge of Christ and then encouraging them to grow in our Lord Jesus as they grow in love for our God day by day.


One part of what I believe is a good 'training routine' is what has been called journaling. God challenged me in 2010 to prove what I practiced-that is to show those I tell to journal what that actually looks like at my house. That is the message below the verse of the day, the memory verse, and the 'read through the Bible in a year' daily readings. I journal the message God wants me to have for each day. Now, as I journal, I must remember to write for those reading-not just myself.


The scripture for today that 'jumped' at me is from 1 Corinthians 1. Pual writes in verse 24:

24 "We are not trying to dictate how you must live out your trust in the Messiah, for in your trust you are standing firm. Rather, we are working with you for your own happiness."


I hear Jesus say in John 15 what He was doing in His earthly ministry:

10 "If you keep My commandments, you will remain in My love, just as I have kept My Father’s commandments and remain in His love. 11 I have told you these things so that My joy may be in you and your joy may be complete. 12 This is My commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you..."


My prayer for all who read these is to (1)learn to follow what God has written on your hearts(Hebrews 10:16)(2) remain in God's love in Christ(3) love one another as Christ loves us(3) realize Christ's joy in you that your joy may be full.


This is so that each of you will not lose courage and experience your inner self being renewed daily(2 Corinthians 4:16).


 Last night as I was getting ready for bed, I realized I was looking forward to meeting God this morning and what I would see and learn from Him. I pray you know even greater excitement in your heart.


No matter what great day we may have known, God always has a better day coming for each of us if only we seek Him.


I love you all.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Your name rises above it all. Give me Your daily bread to expect Your joy and wisdom and to flee evil and run to You. Forgive me my wickedness.

Gentle and patient and faithful God,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen




Comentários


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page