top of page

Well Pleased

Sunday, October 6, 2024


Good morning, Lord

Father in Heaven, I seek You first-Your peace-Your knowledge and discernment. I take up my cross and follow...In Jesus' name...

Verse of the Day:  Isaiah 26:4

4 Trust in the Lord forever,

    for the Lord is a rock for all ages.

Memory verse: Psalm 42:2(New American Bible )

"My soul thirsts for God, the living God. When can I enter and see the face of God?"

Today's reading: Isaiah 28-29 Philippians 3


Well Pleased

Two times we hear God speak from Heaven and say, "“This is my beloved Son, with whom I am well pleased.”(Matthew 3:17;Matthew 17:5)

We have all heard people refer to the verse, "Well done, my good and faithful servant"(Matthew 25). (Folks dream of hearing God say this to them when they reach Heaven.) It was actually in a parable of Christ Jesus in Matthew 25. Three servants were given talents or money by their master-it was a test of faith for each. The first, given the most, did great. The second did ok. The last buried his talents.

We seem to miss the fact that the master said the words,"Well done" to the second servant-the one who did earn with his talents but not as much as the 'super performer', the first servant.

The second took his job seriously. He earned with what he was given. Then, he was unashamed when he presented his master with his results and was rewarded with:

1. The words from his master, "Well done, good and faithful servant"

2. The promise of greater responsibility

3. Then, what I think is the greatest reward, the open door to the 'joy of his master'.


The hope of hearing, "Well done"--I pray this is not all we trust Christ for-or that we work for greater responsibility in this present life so as to be recognized for our future performance.

Accolades for performance or present joy in Your Lord-which is it?


Hebrews 11:10 says about Abraham, "For he was looking forward to the city with foundations, whose architect and builder is God."(This says the builder is God-not will be God-is God)


I promise you that one of Abraham's 'foundations' was the joy of his Lord, his Master, as he walked this earth.


Jesus prayed for us: “I made known to them your name, and I will continue to make it known, that the love with which you have loved me may be in them, and I in them.” (John 17:26)


God is well(perfectly) pleased with Jesus. Jesus asked His Father to put His love(His full pleasure) for Jesus into us.


Before we were born, God planned for us to walk through His door(Jesus)to full joy. We may not be the highest achievers but we cannot bury His truth for us-unless we deny Christ.


God has put Jesus in us and us in Him. His love, His pleasure, His perfect joy in us.


Call them what you will-talents, foundations,etc.-if you bury them like the third servant, you bury the life Jesus died to give.


Walk in Jesus, find His joy, hear His encouragement here and now.


...because He loves us...

Father in Heaven,

Your name contains all I need-all the world needs. Show me more of Your kingdom. Give me Your pleasure and love for today. Forgive me my filth.

Glorious and faithful Master,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen




 

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page