top of page

Trust

Thursday, September 12, 2024


Good morning, Lord


Verse of the Day:  Philippians 4:4

4 "Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice."


Memory verse: Psalm 42:2(New American Bible )

"My soul thirsts for God, the living God. When can I enter and see the face of God?"


Today's reading:  Proverbs 16-18 2 Corinthians 6


 Trust


The differences in the definition of trust and faith are very small. Faith is always used as a noun. Trust can be a verb or a noun. This is the biggest difference I could find.


The Complete Jewish Bible(CJB) uses trust where a lot of other translations use 'faith'. Trust to the Jewish mind is an action word that shows that faith is something that we 'do'.


When my children started to date, I tried to instill in their minds that if you don't have trust in a relationship, you don't have anything--so walk away.


We talk about 'placing our faith' in Christ at the time of salvation. That means that we consciously place the security of our souls in the hands of God-someone we cannot see but experience spiritually. At the same time we confess our sins to God and place our sinful attitudes in His hands for changing. We trust God to make us all over again and trust the Holy Spirit to assume residence in our souls.


We should trust Him everyday for everything. Why would we not?


Romans 8:32 ►"He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all—how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things?"


The problem is the lack in our faithfulness not His. We give Him problems and then take them back and worry or try to fix them on our own.


We guard our 'high places'-the 'old sin' in our lives-our own little idols-or find new ones. But God is patient. He is a strict disciplinarian, but He is patient. He is completely trustworthy.


Here is a prayer that is worthy of much time and repetition:


"Lord, make me faithful-I want You to be able to trust me to live obediently in Your kingdom. Increase my resolve to honor You."


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Help me honor Your name and love You with all I am. I want You to be able to trust me. Make me deeper. Forgive my shallow obedience.

Deep, deep God,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page