top of page

The Walk Home

Friday, April 26, 2024


  Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day:   Colossians 1:27-28

To them God willed to make known what are the riches of the glory of this mystery among the Gentiles: which is Christ in you, the hope of glory. Him we preach, warning every man and teaching every man in all wisdom, that we may present every man perfect in Christ Jesus.


Memory verse: Psalm 90:14

14 Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love,

    that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.  

Today's reading: 1 KINGS 1-2 LUKE 19:28-48


The Walk Home


You may have seen them somewhere in the past-the old street lights that had the canopy shaped like a sunflower. They are not in use anymore but folks would take them and stand them by their stems vertically and paint them as flowers.


There was one of them that was on the property line between us and the Warrick's yard on the pole at the street. The bulb was exposed and easy to shoot out. With a bunch of boys living on the end of that street and just across the railroad tracks and the availability of those wonderful daisy BB guns, that light did not shine for long at a time.


Our street was about 300 yards long and there was only one more light between us and main street so our dead-end was rather dark at times. Many nights we walked home in the darkness and never thought a thing about it. Sometimes, though, alone on that street would bring out the fear and then hurry...but I kept my eyes on the front porch light at the end of the street.


Jesus said, “I am the light of the world. If you follow me, you won’t have to walk in darkness, because you will have the light that leads to life.”


There were many other small house lights on my street that promised security but I never stopped because they were not my home. Christ is the light of the world and He is also home...


...return Home...


Jesus said, "Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest." Matthew 28:11


Ask yourself, "How long have I been gone?"


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Forgive me, Holy God, for wandering off-for following a path to the world. Have mercy on me.

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen  




留言


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page