top of page

The Richest Man In The World

Monday, August 26, 2024


Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Psalm 119:165 Great peace have those who love your law,

    and nothing can make them stumble.


Memory verse: Psalm 42:2(New American Bible )

"My soul thirsts for God, the living God. When can I enter and see the face of God?"


Today's reading: Psalm 120-122 1 Corinthians 9


The Richest Man In The World


 Of the top 10 richest men in the world, over half are in technologies that did not exist 50 years ago. No matter who they are, they all answer to someone or something. They are bound either to people who are shareholders or they are subject to the world markets. At least they are subject to their own weaknesses because not one of these people is perfect.


If Christ Jesus is not Lord of their lives, the enemy is, whether they know it or not.


Everyone answers to someone. With that in mind we read:


Colossians 3:22–24

22 Bondservants, obey in everything those who are your earthly masters,7 not by way of eye-service, as people-pleasers, but with sincerity of heart, fearing the Lord. 23 Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men, 24 knowing that from the Lord you will receive the inheritance as your reward. You are serving the Lord Christ.


Acts 17:25

25 "nor is he served by human hands, as though he needed anything, since he himself gives to all mankind life and breath and everything.


As we seek God and His kingdom(Matthew 6:33), we are being transformed little by little into the image of Christ. But the world is always tempting us with opportunities for 'self-glory'. So, we must be conscious of the fact that  we are not serving for 'eye-service'(to look good to someone in the world) but we must work from a heart that is motivated by our fear of displeasing God and our love for Him.


To 'work heartily' for the Lord-even when we do work that displeases us(the stuff we don't really like to do but is part of our responsibilities)-this takes great focus on Him. It takes a lot of 'heart and mind effort' to learn that attitude in earthly work.


Now, I have a hard time thinking about a reward I will receive in Heaven. There will be rewards in Heaven-great rewards. But the last sentence in Colossians 3:24 says,


"You are working for the Lord Christ".


This is what pushes me. If my heart is right with Him, the reward of becoming more like Him step by step is enough for me to "work heartily for God" as 'I work this earth'.


I don't know what Heavenly treasures are but what little I know of the Lord's peace and relief and assurance-and merciful love-is enough for me to work heartily through this earthly life.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Gracious and mighty is Your name. I need Heavenly resolve to work only for you as I work this earth. I pray Your bread today for my attitude to work heartily to please You only. Lead me away from pleasing anyone but You.

Most kind God of all my strength,

In the name of Christ Jesus

Amen





Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page