top of page

That Should Have Been Friends

Sunday, July 23, 2023

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: But God forbid that I should boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by whom the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.—Galatians 6:14

Memory verse: Philippians 4:8 ►Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

Today's reading: PSALM 33-34 ACTS 24


That Should Have been Friends


These are words from an Americana song from the 90's :

"As I stand on this mountain,

Face to the wind,

Amazed at the number of times I have sinned,

The countless enemies that should have been friends..."*


We all have regrets of some sort either great or small. In Christ, we have been forgiven of all sin and God chooses to never remember our sin-ever.


But what happens when people attack us or our families and friends? How we process these things depends on what we allow to control our minds. If we are always consumed with wickedness in the world, we are very likely to respond the way the world responds. If we are led and controlled by the Holy Spirit, we respond as Jesus does-in love with forgiveness.


Then we read today's Old Testament reading and hear King David say things like,

2"Take hold of shield and buckler

and rise for my help!

3 Draw the spear and javelin

against my pursuers!(Psalm 35)


It is easy to read these words and feel justified for ill feelings toward our accusers. But in the middle of your emotional state, please remember the words of Jesus:

"Father forgive them, they know not what they do"Luke 23:34....

and when Stephen was being stoned to death, the Bible says,

60Falling on his knees, he cried out in a loud voice, “Lord, do not hold this sin against them.” And when he had said this, he fell asleep.


Whatever they may be saying or doing against us, we must hear these words from men at death's door praying forgiveness for those responsible.


While it may be easy to say we agree with what Job said, "Even if He (God) slay me, I will trust Him", how easy it is to pray for forgiveness for someone who is doing everything they can to ruin you?


They are not enemies. They are neighbors.


Really? Yes, really. When our neighbors who consider themselves our enemies attack us or someone we love, it is not going to be easy to pray, "Father forgive them". But this should be the goal of all of us if we are truthful when we say, "I want to be like Jesus".


We cannot be like Jesus with exceptions.

"I will love everyone except those who talk about me"-No, of course we cannot follow Jesus like this. That is rather 'school-yard' is it not?


Those we call 'enemies' we cannot change. We can change and call them neighbors and pray for their forgiveness as we pray for our own.


I have not lived as long as some but I have seen enemies become friends-but-I know so many who could have been friends who would not put the love and effort and forgiveness into it because of pride and hurt.


Remember, if our pride is hurt, it is because we allowed it to be. If our feelings are hurt, it is because we allow it.


Humility in Christ is the best shield we have against hurt feelings and bruised egos. And, loving neighbors is not an option-it is a commandment. They all are neighbors.


1 Peter 1:16 ►New International Version

for it is written: "Be holy, because I am holy."

1 John 2:6 ►New International Version

Whoever claims to live in him must live as Jesus did.

Ephesians 5:2, NIV: "and walk in the way of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God."


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Forgive me for not being forgiving. Teach me to love all my neighbors. Give me the real desire to love as Jesus loves.

Merciful and forgiving God!

In the name of Jesus,

Amen


*(From "Sending me Angels" by Jerry Lynn Williams and Frankie Miller)





Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page