top of page

Teach Us To Pray #7

Sunday, June 16, 2024


Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day:   Luke 11:  4 "...And lead us not into temptation."


Memory verse: Psalm 90:14

14 Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.  


Today's reading:  NEHEMIAH 7-9 ACTS 3


Teach Us To Pray


The last part of Luke 11:4 are these words from Jesus on teaching us how to pray:


"...And lead us not into temptation."


He teaches us to depend on God to guard us against temptation. We cannot depend on ourselves. Why? Our natural man-out human heart is wicked. Self cannot be depended upon.


We must be totally dependent upon God for all our faithfulness to Him. We cannot work up our resistance to sin by 'cheerleading' ourselves into a place of purity. Human strength is no strength at all against sin.


2 Corinthians 12:10 9But He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is perfected in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly in my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest on me. 10 That is why, for the sake of Christ, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.


"So that the power of Christ may rest on me"


Romans 8:29-we are being conformed into the image of Christ...


When we depend on God-when we are God conscious and totally dependent on Him-the power of Christ rests on us. From failure to victory we are being made a little at a time more like Christ.


Christ instructs us to pray for Him to lead us away from the temptations that are thrown at us by the enemy.


Lord, be our shield against sin.

Psalm 33:20



Our soul waits for the Lord;

He is our help and our shield.


Psalm 119:11 (Amplified Bible)

"Your word I have treasured and stored in my heart,

That I may not sin against You."


God shows us in His living word that He wants us to be aware of our propensity to sin and even teaches us to pray for His protection against it.


Learn to pray.

...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

 Your name is above all others. Forgive me for thinking that I can face this onslaught of temptation alone. Teach me to depend on You.

Faithful and true God,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget

Kerrville, TX 78028, USA

©2017 by Good Morning, Lord. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page