top of page

Teach Us To Pray

Monday, June 10, 2024


Good morning, Lord


Verse of the Day:  “Lord, teach us to pray.” (Luke 11:1)


Memory verse: Psalm 90:14

14 Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.  

Monday, June 10, 2024

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: “Lord, teach us to pray.” (Luke 11:1)

Memory verse: Psalm 90:14

14 Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.

Today's reading: EZRA 1-2 JOHN 19:23-42


Teach Us To Pray


No matter how long you have been praying, you need to ask God to teach you more of how to pray. No matter how many sermons I have preached-I need to know more of how God wants me to pray. Every day is different with different challenges and trials and we need to start by asking God for His knowledge on how to pray for each day.

The Lord wants us to be completely open in our prayer life. Who, what, when, how, why-we need to know-from God-how to pray.

This brings me back to the beginning of His model prayer he gave us in Luke 11:2:

"Hallowed be Your name"

'Hallowed' is translated from the Greek: to make holy; consecrate; venerate.

We cannot make God's name Holy. We can venerate which means to regard with awe. We cannot make His name Holy but we can stand in awe of His Holiness.

"Our Father, we stand in awe of Your Divine Holiness."

From where comes our 'awe'? It should be part of our prayer.

"Father, Show me more of Your glory-reveal to me more of Your mysteries of Your greatness that my awe may stop all my thinking except for Your glory-that my love for You may explode and my tongue may still-that You, Holy Spirit will say what I cannot to Your Glory, oh God, in Christ Jesus.

Father, teach us to pray.

Now Pray.

...because He loves us...

Father in Heaven,

I stand in awe of Your Holiness. Forgive my weak energy in seeking You. Teach me to pray.

High and Holy God,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen

Today's reading:   EZRA 1-2 JOHN 19:23-42


Teach Us To Pray


No matter how long you have been praying, you need to ask God to teach you more of how to pray. No matter how many sermons I have preached-I need to know more of how God wants me to pray. Every day is different with different challenges and trials and we need to start by asking God for His knowledge on how to pray for each day.


The Lord wants us to be completely open in our prayer life. Who, what, when, how, why-we need to know-from God-how to pray.


This brings me back to the beginning of His model prayer he gave us in Luke 11:2:


"Hallowed be Your name"


'Hallowed' is translated from the Greek: to make holy; consecrate; venerate.


We cannot make God's name Holy. We can venerate which means to regard with awe. We cannot make His name Holy but we can stand in awe of His Holiness.


"Our Father, we stand in awe of Your Divine Holiness."


From where comes our 'awe'? It should be part of our prayer.


"Father, Show me more of Your glory-reveal to me more of Your mysteries of Your greatness that my awe may stop all my thinking except for Your glory-that my love for You may explode and my tongue may still-that You, Holy Spirit will say what I cannot to Your Glory, oh God, in Christ Jesus.


Father, teach us to pray.


Now Pray.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

I stand in awe of Your Holiness. Forgive my weak energy in seeking You. Teach me to pray.

High and Holy God,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen




Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page