top of page

Taking Fire In

Sunday, September 8, 2024


Good morning, Lord


Verse of the Day:  Psalm 143:10


10 Teach me to do your will,

because you are my God;

Let your good Spirit guide me

on ground that is level.


Memory verse: Psalm 42:2(New American Bible )


"My soul thirsts for God, the living God. When can I enter and see the face of God?"


Today's reading: Proverbs 6-7 2 Corinthians 2


Taking Fire In


Proverbs 6:27 ►

Can a man take fire in his bosom, and his clothes not be burned?


This passage is about lust and is in the middle of warnings against lust. The world today burns with lust and is consumed by it. But I want us to think about a different fire.


Hebrews 12:29 ►

for our “God is a consuming fire.”


Oh, that we could be consumed by our infatuation with God-that we could be obsessed by our desire for God as the human is consumed by the lust of the flesh and the pride of life.


Here is a Biblical principle:


1 John 2:16 ►"For everything in the world—the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life—comes not from the Father but from the world."


This implies, to me, an everyday choice, indeed, an every second choice. And this choice becomes a pattern of thinking-with much work and resolve.


Do I have this resolve-do I want to be consumed by God. God help me if I am not. Lord, fill me with desire to be consumed.


How can I not take the fire of God into my heart and not be consumed? Consumed by His wonder-consumed by His love and power-overwhelmed by His patience-saved by His grace-satisfied by His complete joy!


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Consume me, oh God, with your glorious name! Consume me with a need for Your Heavenly wisdom. I hunger for Your bread for today. Captivate my thinking and lead me away from evil. Forgive me my reluctance to cry, "When can I enter and see the face of God."

Power of all great and righteous things,

In the name of Christ Jesus my Lord,

Amen



Commentaires


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page