top of page

Shaping A 'God'

Thursday, ‎October ‎13, ‎2022 Good Morning, Lord Verse of the Day: Hebrews 13:5-6 Let your conduct be without covetousness; be content with such things as you have. For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” 6 So we may boldly say: “The Lord is my helper; I will not fear. What can man do to me?” Memory verse: “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness” (1 John 1:9). Today's reading: ISAIAH 41-42 1 THESSALONIANS 1 Who Shapes A God? It is a truth that is older than the hills themselves. God started it all. The entire history of the world and of mankind is what it is because of God's love. It is all a story of God and His love for mankind and what God has done to keep man's attention leading mankind to righteousness so God and man could be together. I remember my Mother's words, "You're not bringin' that nasty thing in this house! That stays outside". Whatever it was at the time, Mama did not want that muddy turtle or that thing I had dug up in the creek into her clean house. We also had to take our muddy shoes off on the back step and then take our nasty clothes off in front of the washing machine that was just inside the back door. Why is it so hard for us to understand what sin means to God? He does not want the nasty stuff in His 'house', His presence. He wants His children to shed the sin of this world and come in. The problem is that we get clean and then go back to the creek to play. Other gods of any kind are called idols and an idol is anything that we allow to take our attention off God. As kids on the creek, we run freely without 'adult' supervision, (or we ignore the fact that God goes with us). The reality is that we have to return home to get cleaned up and get fed. The problem is that our filth cannot be hidden and God will not allow it at His table. He sees our sin as easily as my Mom could see mud on my shoes. This is idolatry-our freedom of will to chose the next big thing or to cling to that which we allow to take precedence over our God. God knew it all ahead of this time in history. He knows it all now. None of us can hide our 'filth'. That is why Jesus had to do what He did for us. He is our divine wash. When we come to the door in humility really sorry for 'doing it again', we hear God say as He said in Isaiah 44: "I am the first and I am the last; apart from me there is no God. 7 Who then is like me? Let him proclaim it. 8 Do not tremble, do not be afraid. Did I not proclaim this and foretell it long ago? You are my witnesses. Is there any God besides me? No, there is no other Rock; I know not one.” 22 I have swept away your offenses like a cloud, your sins like the morning mist. Return to me, for I have redeemed you.” God is our home. He welcomes back the humble, penitent heart. Jesus has paid the price once and for all so we can stay clean but when we fail He is always ready to forgive us. He is our rock and the one who has redeemed us and will never remember our sins. What idols do we need to walk away from? There are over 8 million 'household gods' in one country. That's what they call them. At least they are honest about them. Do we have household gods? It is time to admit it and go home where God is the only God in His house. ...because He loves us... Father in Heaven, I do have household gods-everyday gods-forgive me and sharpen my focus on You alone. Merciful and patient God! In the name of Jesus, Amen




Комментарии


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page