top of page

Reach and Take Courage

Saturday, July 22, 2023

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: But God forbid that I should boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by whom the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world.—Galatians 6:14

Memory verse: Philippians 4:8 ►Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

Today's reading: PSALM 26-28 ACTS 22


Reach and Take Courage


Psalm 31:4 You will pull me out of the net which they have secretly laid for me,

For You are my strength.

5 Into Your hand I commit my spirit;

You have ransomed me, O Lord, God of truth.

7 I will rejoice and be glad in Your lovingkindness,

Because You have seen my affliction;

You have known the troubles of my soul,

8 And You have not given me over into the hand of the enemy;

You have set my feet in a large place.


Many of us get down and discouraged and feel guilt because if our faith was strong, we would not have such feelings.


The truth is that King David was overcome many times over by depression and fear. Then he would start writing to God-talking to God and making notes. The passage above was followed by this in the same chapter of Psalms:

10 For my life is spent with sorrow

And my years with sighing;

My strength has failed because of my iniquity,

And my body has wasted away.

12 I am forgotten as a dead man, out of mind;

I am like a broken vessel.


David is up and down. But he finds the faith to come back to the strength of the Lord.

14 But as for me, I trust in You, O Lord,

I say, “You are my God.”

15 My times are in Your hand;


David always thought of the people around Him. He was down and depressed hanging on to the strength of God and thought of those struggling around him and said:

19 How great is Your goodness,

Which You have stored up for those who fear You,

Which You have wrought for those who take refuge in You,

Before the sons of men!

24 Be strong and let your heart take courage,

All you who hope in the Lord.


Take courage-take it-go on , reach up to God and lay your hands on the strength and power of God. It is ours in Christ to cover us and fill us in our darkest times.


Paul had what he called a 'thorn in the flesh'-something he had prayed for the Lord to heal. This is what follows: 2 Corinthians 12:9-11 New International Version (NIV)

9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. 10 That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.


Going over this time and time again-the Holy Spirit makes this part of our thinking-as we move and have our being in Him, we know that no matter how low we are, God's strength is always bigger than any of our troubles.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Forgive me when I let my thoughts get so hopeless-You are all the power all the time-everywhere. Keep my mind on Your mercy and power!

Mighty God of grace and mercy!

In the name of Jesus,

Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page