top of page

Peace Or Not

Friday, ‎November ‎4, ‎2022

Good Morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: John 17:7 Now they have known that all things which You have given Me are from You.

Memory verse: “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness” (1 John 1:9).

Today's reading: JEREMIAH 32-33 HEBREWS 1


The Greatest Tragedy--Peace Or Not


The folks stood in front of the casket and looked down at the man and said, "He's finally at peace".


This has to be one of the greatest tragedies I have witnessed in this Christian life and I have seen and heard it hundreds of times. That someone should live this life and never know God's complete peace is horribly miserable and it is the absolute opposite of that for which Jesus died.


Brothers and sisters, stop and shake yourselves! If you are not at peace, what is Jesus in your life for? He said,

" Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid." John 14:27


How long will we wait for the 'next big thing' to deliver us a thrill to fill the void where God's peace should be? What happens when you are too old to be physically thrilled anymore? Any life that is not at peace with God is a life of addiction. We are at least addicted to the search for peace, satisfaction, or happiness or the life of denying its existence.


Peace, be still. Think. What am I doing? What am I worried about? Only you know. You are the only one who can know what is going on in your mind-except for the Holy Spirit who is in there with you! You are never alone.


Jesus said, "26 But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have told you." John 14:26


Do you profess to love Jesus?

15 If you love Me, you will keep My commandments. 16 And I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Advocate to be with you forever— 17 the Spirit of truth. The world cannot receive Him, because it neither sees Him nor knows Him. But you do know Him, for He abides with you and will be in you.…John 14


That word advocate also is translated 'comforter' and 'consoler'. I know little of the real troubles of others and have limited, compared to others, experience with inner pain but I can tell you that the Holy Spirit never leaves us and if we are not at peace in the middle of pain it is because we were not present with the Holy Spirit before the pain began. He is always present with us....


We cannot be aloof. We cannot ignore the Holy Spirit-ever. He is our sustainer-our only sustainer.


He says He will never leave us.

Hebrews 13:5

5 Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, "Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you."


Jesus said,

"I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world." John 16:33


Whatever is happening 'out there' can never steal our peace if we are conscious of Him all the time because He is that peace-our peace.


Brothers and sisters, seek Him and you will know His peace because He is peace. Know Him. Love Him. This is not a life of lip service. This is a life of love service.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven.

Forgive me for not seeing You and not loving You and for ignoring the truth. Father I want my mind and heart to be aware and totally consumed by You all the time.

Father of tender mercies,

In the name of Jesus,

Amen




Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page