top of page

Peace And LOve

Thursday, ‎January ‎26, ‎2023

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: For thus says the High and Lofty One Who inhabits eternity, whose name is Holy: "I dwell in the high and holy place, with him who has a contrite and humble spirit, to revive the spirit of the humble, and to revive the heart of the contrite ones."—Isaiah 57:15

Memory verse: 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

16 Rejoice always, 17 pray without ceasing, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

Readings: EXODUS 14-15 MATTHEW 17


Peace And Love


Though some would argue, it really was a great time to be alive. Muscle cars and early rock and roll. I remember some of the old folks saying in 1964, "After them Beatles, did you ever think you'd want to hear Elvis again?"


There were unprecedented troubles in the streets. Marches against war-civil rights riots-a time not many want to revisit.


But-I remember peace in the peaceful, green pasture and love at home. I remember feeling awkward when someone said they were bored. I was never bored with my small hometown. But, then someone is always bored. I always had fun. I wonder why?


After all, I had been born in a cotton patch. We were poor. My Dad traded a small truck load of dirt to the doctor for my delivery and he sold produce off the back of an old truck. The commode was a board with a hole in it in a tiny orange closet out back of the house.


Why was I never bored?


There is a picture of my brother and I standing on the gravel driveway behind that house ready for church-matching suits-ages 4 and 6. My mother had us in church every Sunday. I felt secure and loved, why worry?


Peace and love was the cry of the sixties and I thought it was great but even the people at church talked badly about the people who carried the signs in the streets. Later, they would make fun of the 'Jesus-freaks' in front of concerts who tried to tell people about Jesus.


Although I never was in jail, I got in plenty of trouble, went down some bad roads with some shady folks and wound up feeling empty and lost. Then came Jesus and my life would never be the same.


I, again, had peace in the pasture and love at home.(yes, there is a song in there)


Ephesians 5:2 Live a life of love. Love others just as Christ loved us. He gave himself for us—a sweet-smelling offering and sacrifice to God.

Colossians 3:15 Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful.


Love and peace is never boring unless you do not have peace in your heart. After all is said and done-all is not done-there is always loving to do. Life does not have to be has hard as we make it.


Psalm 23:1 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. 2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. 3 He restoreth my soul:


My mother showed me the Lord's peace and love of the green pasture before I was ever big enough to walk in the real pasture. A while later I came face to face with Him and He restored my soul.


I know that many did not grow up in the physical poverty that I did or with the security. But those of us who know the peace of our Lord can be the person who shows a lost soul that it is real-not just on a sign of a march in the sixties.


It is time to love in peace-His peace. Why is it so important to us to hang on to the things that cause us to feel pain and have no peace? In Jesus' name, let go and return to 'the High and Lofty One Who inhabits eternity, whose name is Holy*...


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Forgive me for letting the world steal my connection with Your peace. Thank You for green pasture and still waters and help me share it all.

Great and merciful God of peace and love,

In the name of Christ our Lord,

Amen

*(our verse of the day at the top)



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page