top of page

On Being Good

‎Tuesday, ‎December ‎8, ‎2020

Good Morning, Lord

V.O.D.: John 14:6

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.

M.O.M.: Ephesians 4:31

31 Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with all malice.(English Standard Version)

Today's reading: DANIEL 11-12 JUDE 1



The doctor looked at the man after visiting over the patient's condition and asked, "Aside from this treatment, what can I do for you?"

"Be a good man, find your life in the Lord," the patient said. The doctor, taken aback some said, "I'm trying."



If you had one thing to say to someone; if this one thing would be the last thing you had the opportunity to ever say to a person, what would you say? How would you say it?



My last words to folks as I have walked away for years has been, "I love you or I love y'all". That's because if the Lord calls me home before meeting them again, I want my last words to be "I love you". People have reacted in various ways to these words. Some think one should not use these words so lightly, but I cannot consider this. I feel I must speak my heart.



My saying these words does not make the words true or does it mean I am a good man. Anything that is good in any of us-really good-comes from one source. It comes from the heart of God.

1 John 4:19 We love because he first loved us.

Luke 18:19 ►"Why do you call me good?" Jesus answered. "No one is good--except God alone.



A good and loving man or woman can only be truly so because of the presence of The Holy Spirit, God's mark on our lives.

Ephesians 1:13- It is the same with you. You heard the true message, the Good News about the way God saves you. When you heard that Good News, you believed in Christ. And in Christ, God put his special mark on you by giving you the Holy Spirit that he promised.



Any truly, good thing in us comes from Christ Jesus.



If any young people read this, if you want to give your parents a good Christmas gift, give it in love and it will be fine. But know this: parents who love just want their children to know real joy and peace. Find your life in the Lord and let the goodness of Christ live in you and your parents' joy will be complete-the parents' greatest gift.



Mary carried Jesus full term with humility and grace. She delivered Jesus with humility and as He grew, she treasured all 'these things' in her heart. We, too, must all learn to carry Jesus with humility and grace as He carries us through this life and we must not miss a treasure that He gives us in our hearts. These treasures are for the lost world around us.



This season is about giving but it is also about receiving. We are to give that which we receive. We receive love inexhaustible, unchanging, endurable, and unconditional and must be attuned to the Holy Spirit to know how to give the same. We must walk as Jesus walked.

1 John 2:6 ►Whoever claims to live in him must live as Jesus did.



Want to be a 'good person? Truly find your life in Jesus and know that those who really love you will have the greatest gift-that of knowing you are at peace and full of God's joy.



Next time someone asks you what they can do for you, what will you say?



Tell them, "Find your perfect life in the Lord Jesus".



The greatest gift you will ever receive on this earth is knowing that someone came to faith in Christ because you allowed the Spirit of God to speak through you.



Be good-the good that the Spirit of God is in you.



...because He loves us...



Father in Heaven,

Forgive me for not loving-for judging and not letting it go. Love through me. Do good through me, oh God.

God of endless and enduring love and grace,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen








Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page