top of page

My Only Sacrifice

Wednesday, July 31, 2024


Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day:   Matthew 5:14,16

“You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden.

Memory verse: Psalm 90:14

14 Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.  


Today's reading: Psalm 57-59 Romans 4


My Only Sacrifice



Psalm 51-Amplified Bible


17 My [only] sacrifice [acceptable] to God is a broken spirit;


A broken and contrite heart [broken with sorrow for sin, thoroughly penitent], such, O God, You will not despise.


English standard version

17 The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit;

    a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.


Easy to read version

17 The sacrifice that God wants is a humble spirit.

    God, you will not turn away someone who comes with a humble heart and is willing to obey you.


I wanted us to see what this  verse looks like in these three versions for perspective.


God will never turn you away when you are broken in sin and come before Him humbly repenting.


King David has sinned with Bathsheba. It had ended badly. David was guilty for the death of her husband and the resulting child had died and he was as low as he could be.


Back in verse 12 of chapter 51, he says this:

"12 Your help made me so happy. Give me that joy again. Make my spirit strong and ready to obey you."(ERV)


Do you recall when God made you happy-have you felt divine relief from God? Have you felt His perfect peace?


The point is that we don't have to hit the bottom to have God make us feel like this and if we are on the bottom, God will lift us back up where He wants us to be no matter how great or small our sin may be.


He simply wants us with Him-free from all ego and pride-free with Him.


Find out what God is really like-what His love feels like just being with Him in silence.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Great and mighty is Your name, Holy God, my Lord. Teach me humility and submission. I want to be where You, oh Lord, want me to be. Forgive my desire for the world.

In the name of Christ Jesus my  Lord,

Amen





Commenti


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page