top of page

Intentions Of The Heart

Monday, June 26, 2023

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Leviticus 19:18 New King James Version

You shall not take vengeance, nor bear any grudge against the children of your people, but you shall love your neighbor as yourself: I am the Lord.

Memory verse: John 10:27-28...27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: 28 And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.

Today's reading: JOB 5-7 ACTS 8:1-25


Intentions of the Heart


A man named Simon, a magician in Samaria was the middle of all attention and wanted more.


Philip, a man of God in Christ, left Jerusalem when Saul started destroying Christians,(Acts 8). Suddenly all the attention was off Simon the magician and on what God was doing through Philip.


Peter and John heard what God was doing in Samaria and went down there to work. They were laying hands on people to receive the Holy Spirit and God's power was working miracles.


Simon wanted this power and offered Peter and John money for it. When you read this account, you will see that Simon had believed and was baptized. But we see that he was still in the middle of sin.


Peter said to him, "...your heart is not right before God....I see that you are in the gall of bitterness and in the bondage of iniquity. Therefore repent of this wickedness of yours, and pray the Lord that, if possible, the intention of your heart may be forgiven you.”


If possible? We must see that forgiveness is possible only if change is wanted because in our hearts we are sorry for the sin. Simon had to realize that his heart was not right-he had to be sorry for it-he had to confess it.


He had to want to change his intentions but he had to see and believe that his intentions were wrong.


What are our real intentions? Are they selfishly motivated?


Do we really want people to see Jesus in us or are we afraid that they might really see Jesus in us? Are you afraid someone might call you a fanatic or a Jesus freak?


What are our motivations right now-really?


Before God, tell Him what is on your mind and get this right. There is no rest until we do.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

I want my intentions to be Yours. Forgive me my selfishness and clear my mind. I want to see with Your eyes.

Merciful and mighty God!

In the name of Christ Jesus our Lord,

Amen



コメント


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page