top of page

Humble Yourself

Sunday, February 5 ‎2023

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Psalm 18:1-2 New King James Version

I will love You, O Lord, my strength. The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer; My God, my strength, in whom I will trust; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.

Memory verse: 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

16 Rejoice always, 17 pray without ceasing, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

Readings: EXODUS 36-38 MATTHEW 23:1-22


Humble Yourself


We have read and heard and talked a lot about humility.

Jesus said, " Whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted." (Matthew 23)

Whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.” (Matthew 18)


Isaiah writes:

“this is the one to whom I will look: he who is humble and contrite in spirit and trembles at my word” (Isaiah 66:2)

“I live in a high and holy place, but also with the one who is contrite and lowly in spirit, to revive the spirit of the lowly and to revive the heart of the contrite” (Isaiah 57:15)


From Peter:

1 Peter 5:5-6 “Likewise, you who are younger, be subject to the elders. Clothe yourselves, all of you, with humility toward one another, for “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.” Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you.”


James sheds some light on humility:

God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble(James 4:6).


The old language word for 'opposes' here actually means 'rages in battle'-so God rages in battle against pride'? That is what it sounds like to me. We can safely say that if we do not get rid of our pride on our own that we are in the middle of a battle over pride. The enemy tries to get us to buy into full-blown pride and God rages in this battle because He loves us enough to give us free will. God wants us to make the choice-on our own-under His mighty hand by His strength-but by our free will.


Some of us have no problem with pride and then some of us have a big struggle. So, if you struggle with pride, let God deal with it-you do not have to deal with it on your own. But-you must face it-admit it-give it to Him-trust Him-humbling yourself under His hand-taking up your cross and following Him.(Luke 9:23)


The whole key to personal humility is that we must want humility...we must want to put on Jesus.


Romans 13:14 ►Rather, clothe yourselves with the Lord Jesus Christ, and do not think about how to gratify the desires of the flesh.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

As it is in Heaven-let me learn humility as it is in Heaven-allow me to learn what that means. Forgive me for false, self-pride. I would be humble before You and before the world.

Great God-great-great God!

In the name of Christ,

Amen



ความคิดเห็น


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page