top of page

Hope For The Morning

Saturday, July 1, 2023

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Psalm 30: 5 For his anger is but for a moment, and his favor is for a lifetime. Weeping may tarry for the night, but joy comes with the morning.

Memory verse: John 10:27-28...27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: 28 And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.

Today's reading: JOB 20-21 ACTS 10:24-48


Hope for the Morning


I call them 'pre-God' stories. The varied accounts of things I got myself into before the Lord had my heart. You have them. Things we may not be so proud of but that have a good message or bring a good laugh or sin that needs not be repeated.


What, of course, is more important now is the life we lead and not the stories generated. But do not think that all the past should be filed where it could do no 'harm' in some file marked 'Beware- Ungodly'.


My big brother interrupted me one time while I was regretting my past out loud, “God can use every bit of it-the Bible says that all things work together for good”. What a great moment. My big brother preached to me- and I needed it.


He was right. The scripture says that all things- not just some- work together for good for those who love Him and are called according to his purpose, Romans 8:28. Even the things that brought us the most shame or grief or pain are all useful. Romans 8:29 says this is done while God is transforming us into the image of His son-never read or quote Romans 8:28 without Romans 8:29.


But for what purposes are these stories useful? God somehow uses these to touch individual lives.


I was driving home after a hard day of work with a young man and he finally said to pull over. I had told one of my stories when God got right in the middle of this young man's heart. He prayed for God to save him then and there.


God can speak through you when you least expect it.

Psalm 30: 5 For his anger is but for a moment,

and his favor is for a lifetime.

Weeping may tarry for the night,

but joy comes with the morning.


There is always hope-for a person you may consider unreachable-there is always hope through Christ Jesus.


God is always greater than our past- but He can and will use it all.


…because He loves us…


Father in Heaven,

Thank You for all your patient love and grace during the experiences You have brought me through. Forgive me for not being aware all the time that You can and will work no matter the circumstances.

Gracious Lord and mighty Master!

In the name of Christ Jesus my Lord,

Amen




コメント


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page