top of page

Holday Train

Monday, November 20, ‎2023


Good morning, Lord


Verse of the Day:   Psalm 95:1-2 New King James Version Oh come, let us sing to the Lord! Let us shout joyfully to the Rock of our salvation. Let us come before His presence with thanksgiving; Let us shout joyfully to Him with psalms.


 Memory verse: Philippians 4:8 ►Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.


Today's reading: EZEKIEL 14-15 JAMES 2



Holiday Train


 When I was a child of 5 years we moved into town with a bathroom actually in the house. I never missed the old out-house in the country-never thought about. We had one inside now! We had arrived! Then we went the ten miles to visit my grandparents' place on East Fork creek. Out-house-yuck........?

All of us, whatever our age, tend to be thankful for the material things and to get quite caught up in it all. If we are not thankful then are we complaining? We forget...


We approach Thanksgiving in the coming days. Here are some of the things on our minds:

 >the food

 >the travel

 >the purchase of the food

>the room for all the people

 >the preparation of the food

>the weather

>??? food...


Where did it all start? Not the place, but with whom did it all start? I would gladly use an outhouse again if I could see my grandpa and granny again. No matter what the food was like in the past-how much do I remember the blessing of the time I spent with those that are gone now?


 All this rambling today is just to remind us to see past all the stuffing and look forward to the folks. The little ones, the big ones, the funny, the grouchy, the sleepy and the wired.


 The house of my fifth year was across from a railroad track where the train ran back and forth twice a day everyday for years. That was such an experience for children to watch. Some days, we would sit on the front porch and count every car by the sun flashing in our faces from between the cars... I am so grateful for these memories. The train exists no longer. The house is gone. My children missed all that. The holidays come quickly and roll past us and are gone. Count every car... and be thankful, really observe, love and be thankful. God has blessed us so deeply and His mercies are new right now...


...because He loves us...



 Father in Heaven,

Let me bless as many as I can with love and joy every day. Help me to count every heart that I see... Forgive my thin patience.

In Jesus' name,

Amen 





コメント


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page