top of page

Have I Loved?

Tuesday, May 16, 2023

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Ecclesiastes 11:5

As you do not know what is the way of the wind, Or how the bones grow in the womb of her who is with child, So you do not know the works of God who makes everything.

Memory of the Month: John 10:27-28

27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: 28 And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.

Today's reading: 2 KINGS 24-25 JOHN 5:1-24


Have I Loved All I Can?


Why is it so important to stay in God's word? Why is it so very important that we learn to walk as Jesus walked and pray without ceasing?


Is it because that it will make us feel as though we can do anything or love anyone with God empowering us?


It is because when the worst of times hit us, God is always faithful to bring us through whatever He brings us to?


Though that is a good reason, we should not consider it only. We could read the scriptures and find many reasons to prepare. But preparation for the worst of times is not the only reason.


The reason that we should be living our lives before the Lord-the real reason-should be our love for Him.


No matter what happens, or when, His love for us is never changing. We speak of love growing but God's love for us is complete and always has been and this will never change. God gives us what we need to see His love in our hearts grow-our capacity for loving grows in Him when we take up our crosses daily.


There are many things still to come but God's love will always be our strength and it never weakens; it never stops.


1 Corinthians 13:4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

8 Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. 9 For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10 but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. 11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. 12 For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.


We are fully known and completely loved.


Matthew 22:37-40 New International Version (NIV)

37 Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.


At the end of the day, ask yourself: "Have I loved all I can love?"


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Forgive me for not loving in Your strength. Put me in that place where I want to love You all I can.

The glory is Yours alone!

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page