top of page

For God's Glory

Friday, May 31, 2024


Good morning, Lord


Verse of the Day: Psalm 56:4

In God (I will praise His word), In God I have put my trust; I will not fear. What can flesh do to me?


Memory verse: Psalm 90:14

14 Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.  


Today's reading: 2 CHRONICLES 15-16 JOHN 12:27-50


For God's Glory


We continue to look at 'hallowing' God's name from the Lord's prayer in Matthew 6:9.


1 Peter 4:11 ends like this: "...so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ. To him be the glory and the power for ever and ever."


Many of us have come to realize that hallowing God's name is in short supply. We have a mandate to praise God's name and to hold Him up above all else.


We are born again with new affections for God that we have not known before that must become greater and and still have old affections for the world that must diminish.


God created us for His glory.


Isaiah 43:7 "...everyone who is called by my name, whom I created for my glory, whom I formed and made.”


He forgives us our sins through Christ for His glory.


Isaiah 43:25 “I, even I, am he who blots out your transgressions, for my own sake, and remembers your sins no more.


God chose us for praising His glory.


Ephesians 1:11,12-11In Him we were also chosen as God’s own, having been predestined according to the plan of Him who works out everything by the counsel of His will, 12in order that we, who were the first to hope in Christ, would be for the praise of His glory.


Isaiah 48:9-11 tells us that we have been saved so we can be tested and refined and the verses end with God asking this:


11...How can I let myself be defamed?


    I will not yield my glory to another.


Some have asked, "How can God be so self-centered?" One pastor explains, "If you had something that would make the ones you love peaceful, content, and perfectly happy, would it be love to withhold it from them? Of course, it would not be love."


God sees that we know His glory and give Him praise because that is what His complete love demands-that we know Him as well as we can and praise Him for all of it. All of the gifts and promises-the fruit of the Spirit-His presence-His power in our lives-all this is God in our lives. In God can be found our complete purpose, peace and love.


Hallow His name.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Forgive me for not digging deeper and finding more spiritual energy to praise You with. Show me how to hallow Your name.

Worthy God-worthy of all my praise,

In the name of Jesus,

Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page