top of page

Eyes Off Me


‎Monday, ‎July ‎19, ‎2021

Good Morning, Lord

Verse of the Day:  Isaiah 41:10

Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, Yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’

Memory of the month:  Matthew 5:6 “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be  satisfied.

Today's reading: PSALM 23-25 ACTS 21:18-40



Eyes Off Me



How often do we need to be reminded that this whole thing is not about us-it is about Jesus?



Paul had to deal with this all the time in his time of ministry. It is recorded in Acts 21. Paul was on his last trip to Jerusalem and had stopped over in Caesarea where there was a prophet who got somewhat dramatic. He took Paul's belt and tied his own hands and feet and said this is what would happen to Paul in Jerusalem. Those around Paul started crying and begging him not to go.



Paul had to speak. This emotional display had gone far enough. He had long since resigned himself to the reality that any breath could be his last-any step or movement or trip-and he lived with this reality everyday. If one chose to live for Jesus during that time, it was a matter of fact.



But Paul saw all this emotion as displaced. He appreciated all the love and concern but it was 'off-center'. The center of the love and energy should be on Jesus.



A paraphrase of his statement:


"You're killing me here...with all the crying and wailing...I love you folks , too, but I signed on for this and have known always that if Jesus is first in everything that certain dangers are just that-certain. Eyes off me-eyes on Jesus".



It is still the hardest thing to do-to keep Christ first in all things-especially where our closest loved ones are concerned. But our prayer has to be, always, "Eyes off me-eyes on Jesus".



God will always deal with the rest if we trust Him. Jesus died for all-not just me. God loves all equally as hard as that may be to grasp. Think of this: Do you believe that gravity holds us all down on this globe-all 7 billion or so of us? If God made that gravity hold us all down, why is it so hard to grasp that God loves us all? Jesus died so we could get our eyes on His love-eyes on Jesus-eyes off us.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,


Forgive me my high emotions and keep me calm as I keep my eyes on you and keep you in the center of my focus. Teach me how to not worry about things out of my control.


Merciful and wise God!


In the name of Jesus Christ,


Amen


Kommentare


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page