top of page

Emulate

Tuesday, September 17, 2024


Good morning, Lord


Verse of the Day:  Ephesians 5:1

5 Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children.


Memory verse: Psalm 42:2(New American Bible )

"My soul thirsts for God, the living God. When can I enter and see the face of God?"


Today's reading:   Proverbs 30-31 2 Corinthians 11:1-15


Emulate


Ephesians 5:1

5 "Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children."


There is not much that is more precious than a child wanting to be like a parent. Growing up, I wanted to be like the good man my Dad was. When I was 10, my Dad stopped drinking. Seven years later when he passed, my mother said that after he stopped drinking, he showed us what a good man he was. I wanted to be like that.


We all have those 'dark spots' in our lives that we wish we had never gone through but what about the dark spots in our lives today-the times when we forget or choose to turn our 'God-conscious' mind off?


It sounds simple-'to be like Dad'-but it is never simple. It is similar to when we get married-getting married is the simple part-but we really have no idea what we are signing on for.


When we accept Christ, we have really no idea what comes next but we trust Him with our lives.



Then comes the day when we read:


Matthew 5:48 ►"Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect."


The word 'perfect' means 'complete' in the Greek language. So, the seriously real believer will continually look at how 'complete' they really are. But how do we imitate God as little children imitate parents? By being faithful to what we do know...


All the good things-the things that are not against any rules or commandments-these things of God we must seek to emulate. What are they?


Love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control-against these things there is no law(Galatians 5:22.23). These are in the 'tool bag' of the Holy Spirit in our lives. Tools are of no use until they are in our hands. We must choose to use these tools-take them out and get better using each one.


Remember how 'precious' we said it was for a child to imitate a parent? For us to emulate God is precious to Him. How can I say that?


Jeremiah 31:3 "The Lord appeared to us in the past, saying: 'I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with unfailing kindness.'"


1 John 3:1a "See what great love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are!"


We must remember this:


Philippians 1:6 ►"being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus."


Be faithful; what God started He will finish...


...because He loves us...


 Father in Heaven,

 Let me grow in my understanding of Your mighty name that I may see Your kingdom as I do Your will. Give me strength and wisdom today and Your humility. Forgive me my wickedness and lead me away from evil. I want to be more like you.

Father of honor and peace,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen




Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page