top of page

Driving Through Utopia

‎Wednesday, ‎December ‎8, ‎2021

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: John 14:6

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.

Memory of the Month: Psalm 33:4

4 For the word of the Lord is right and true;

he is faithful in all he does.

Today's reading: DANIEL 8-10 3 JOHN 1



Driving Through Utopia



The family traded stories and feelings so very lovingly with each other and me as I clicked it into my phone. I heard of how in younger years some missed some things and the wish to be able to recapture even the slightest memory missed now by 'grey-grey matter'.



Oh, what I missed when young-missed for stupidity or laziness-neglect or hate-lust or rebellion or a host of other sins. In other words, I missed all God had for me then for neglect of Him. It all boils down to my refusal of His truth.



Why must folks go through so much hurt to realize it when you have less life out before than behind?



God's mercies are new every morning to those who actually realize these mercies. Did you ever wonder why this statement comes from a book in the Bible called 'Lamentations? (one does not lament over something not missed at some point)

Lamentations 3:22-23

22 The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;

his mercies never come to an end;

23 they are new every morning;

great is your faithfulness.



The peace of God is known to those who seek righteousness. What about the rest?

John 14:27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

Philippians 4:7 And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.



Peace and mercy can and will be ours when we surrender and obey.

Just before John 14:27, Jesus says this in verse 26:

"26 But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you".



Will the Holy Spirit teach us anything if we ignore Him? Not while we are running from His truth. He will take all these things and recapture the years the locusts have stolen(Joel 2:25-26) when we return to Him-but what if the young could grasp the reality of God's truth while still young?



I had a route to the oil field I drove each week-end. I would leave home late on Sunday and drive through Utopia, Texas(remember the movie-'Seven Days in Utopia'?). One trip the wild flowers were in bloom. There were large fields of solid yellow that would seem to lift you right off the road...then immediately change to a vast blue sea in the next pasture on both sides of the road. God showed me that this is what life is when we don't drive too fast--and see with our eyes. He lifts us right off the road...so we can endure the week of 115 degree-plus days where we drive to work in the dark and back to the Fema trailer in the same darkness and repeat and repeat.



But-we must be hearing with our hearts and seeing with our souls. This happens in obedience and surrender as we seek His kingdom and righteousness and learn to love Him with all we are. His light in our hearts sustains and grows us in victory as we go from darkness to darkness.



Life is hard but not as hard as we make it.

Grief and heartbreak are the 115 degree days from darkness to darkness but...

2 Corinthians 3:18 And our faces are not covered. We all show the Lord’s glory, and we are being changed to be like him. This change in us brings more and more glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.



Drive through Utopia-whatever it takes to live a consistent life in the presence of God-the fields are magnificent-His mercies will reveal this-His peace will overwhelm you. Shout it from the high places to the folks down in the valleys.



Psalm 18:33 ►

He makes my feet like the feet of a deer; he causes me to stand on the heights.



No matter what you think you have missed or where you are now, God will make known His wonders to you.



...because He loves us...



Father in Heaven,

Forgive me my rebellion and set my feet where You choose. I surrender. You are Lord.

Father of all Glory and peace,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen








Comentários


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page