top of page

Divine Curiosity

Saturday, ‎January ‎8, ‎2022

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Amos 5:14-15

Seek good and not evil, That you may live; So the Lord God of hosts will be with you, As you have spoken. Hate evil, love good; Establish justice in the gate. It may be that the Lord God of hosts Will be gracious to the remnant of Joseph.

Memory of the Month: 2 Corinthians 5:17

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.

Today's reading: GENESIS 20-22 MATTHEW 6:19-34



Divine Curiosity



What questions do you have for God? I have heard many say that they have plenty of questions for God when they get to Heaven.



The practical-what is practical about our discussing questions for God? I mean, what good can we get out of it for the glory of the kingdom of God. This is after all, the question we need to consider about all things in our lives.



There are things we do not understand about the way God does things and all of us, if we are truthful, have questions. The enemy will try to use this questioning of ours to seed and grow doubt. So, this is the practical part of Christian life and growth. How can we deal with the uncertainty of things-the things we don't understand such as:

Why do such bad things happen to Christ-following folks?

Why does God take home the sweetest Christians?

Why does God not heal after every prayer for healing?


These and a million other questions go through our lives all the time. How we deal with all these can either be the keys to growth or the reason for failure.



The first thing I can tell you is that worrying about it will get you nowhere but down. The scripture tells us not to worry.


Matthew 6:25 ►Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes?


I think the most important part of this verse is "Is not life more than food or clothes?" So what is life if not taking care of our physical needs first? What does God say is important? God knows our physical needs yet tells us to seek Him and His kingdom first, Matthew 6:33.

The Lord knows our every hair-everything about us, Matthew 6:26. The Lord tells us in this that if we are obedient to Him, all the things that we really need will be added.



1 Corinthians 13:12 ►For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

One day, I will know....even as I am known. Paul says I know in part. We know it is not a sin to question 'why' because Jesus asked that question from the cross and He was without sin.

1 John 3:5 ►But you know that he appeared so that he might take away our sins. And in him is no sin.


Paul had received an answer from God when he asked God to heal him of his 'thorn in the flesh' and God said, "My grace is sufficient".

2 Corinthians 12:9 ►But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.



I maintain that all our questions and all the questions the enemy tries to use against our faith should be taken to the cross and traded for this question:

Father what is next-what comes now-what do You have for me to learn now? This is what I call 'divine curiosity'. We have plenty of worldly curiosity. Worldly curiosity leads us to sin. Divine curiosity leads us to Christ. Divine curiosity leads us to the heart of God.



Ok, so a bad thing happens to you or someone close to you and you ask God why. God says, "My strength is sufficient". You can either wrestle in sin with that truth or you can thank God and search with divine curiosity for what God will teach you next. This means you will go through all the struggle and pain and much later realize what God wanted you to learn or you can trust Him while it is all happening and observe with divine curiosity and learn while it happens.



I believe that God teaches us precious lessons everyday. Divine curiosity(curiosity fueled by the Holy Spirit-living consciously of God) lets us be aware of God's teaching purposes while it happens instead of becoming aware way down the road.



Have you ever gone through something really hard and then 'come to yourself'-you know, one of those, "Oh, I see" moments much later. I know I have and have heard many stories of 'lessons realized'.

What if we could realize the lessons and truths of God while He is teaching rather than much later? It can happen and will when we walk in the Spirit and allow God to cultivate His divine curiosity in our hearts and minds.

God tells us in 2 Corinthians 12:9 ►But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

He says to us, "In the dark pain, when you are the weakest, glory in that weakness so that Christ's power may rest on you. Stop trying to understand 'how'-stop questioning why and embrace your weakness so you can rest in the full power of Christ on you".



God wants us to learn how to float in the river of His life while we are dragged through the pain of this one as we say, "God, I am listening, what is this lesson, I will not miss a thing with Your strength.



I will know as I am known when I get home but now, God's grace is all I need.



...because He loves us...



Father in Heaven,

Teach me how to walk in faith. Forgive me for asking the wrong questions. I want Christ's power to rest on me. Have mercy on me and teach me how to learn and look to You for the answers.

Father of all wisdom and ultimate teacher of all,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen




Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page