top of page

Desire, First

Sunday, July 7, 2024


Good morning, Lord

16

Verse of the Day:   Luke 6:27, “But I say to you who hear, Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, 28 bless those who curse you, pray for those who abuse you."

Memory verse: Psalm 90:14

14 Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.  


Today's reading: JOB 36-37 ACTS 15:22-41


Desire, First


Before we do anything in the name of the Lord, we must love first. Doing anything out of allegiance or obligation is not done in the name of the Lord. Obligation has nothing to do with love.


Jesus said in Luke, chapter 6, verse 27, “But I say to you who hear, Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, 28 bless those who curse you, pray for those who abuse you."


The capacity to love our enemies is humanly impossible. If we only look at what Jesus said, we have not heard Him. That is why He said.


"But I say to you who hear...". He said to 'love our enemies'. It is only possible in the power of God-the indwelling Holy Spirit.


Luke 18:27 ►Jesus replied, “What is impossible with man is possible with God.”


C.S. Lewis wrote:


"Provided the thing is in itself right, the more one likes it and the less one has to “try to be good,” the better. A perfect man would never act from a sense of duty; he’d always want the right thing more than the wrong one. Duty is only a substitute for love (of God and of other people), like a crutch, which is a substitute for a leg. Most of us need the crutch at times; but of course it’s idiotic to use the crutch when our own legs (our own loves, tastes, habits, etc.) can do the journey on their own!"


A perfect man? How can we love like Jesus(the perfect man) loved without being totally dependent on Him? That is the only way we will ever truly love our neighbor or our enemy.


Any divine command is impossible without our total dependence on God-our total God-consciousness.


Most people would never admit they don't have that deep of a desire for this type of love and understanding. So, admit it,(confess before God) and ask God to give you this great desire to love.


...because he loves us...


Father in Heaven,

I want to hallow Your name-I want to desire Your daily bread for me-I want desire-Your holy desire-the desire You want me to have. I confess-forgive me for not desiring You the way You want me to. Teach me show me-increase my faith and desire,

Lord of all,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen



コメント


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page