top of page

Confidence In Whom?

Monday, October 9, ‎2023

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Deuteronomy 13:4

4 Remain loyal to Him! Fear Him and obey His commands. Listen to His voice. Worship Him alone. Be fervently devoted to Him.

Memory verse: Philippians 4:8 ►Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

Today's reading: ISAIAH 32-33 COLOSSIANS 1


Confidence in Whom?


Nothing will stop human beings from letting other human beings down. It is simply the human spirit. The flesh governed by the carnal mind is simply sin and will always disappoint.

When you have been disappointed or let down by others, how did you feel?


'When others let me down'--think on this. If someone lets me down, it sounds like before this letdown they were somehow 'holding me up' ? Really? There is the problem. When our temporary earthly happiness is held up by worldly people, our dependence betrays us--our own dependence has betrayed us.


Christ set the captives free-that is independence. Why are we not warned? We are. God warns us. The Bible warns us. But the Bible is God's book of promise and always has words of encouragement.

Psalm 118:5-6

“When hard pressed, I cried to the Lord; he brought me into a spacious place. The Lord is with me; I will not be afraid. What can mere mortals do to me?” Psalm 118:5-6

Jeremiah 17:7-8

“But blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him. They will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.” Jeremiah 17:7-8


The Lord gives us a spacious 'place'? Yes, to those who have confidence in Him and not confidence in human beings.

Now, I know we all have families and friends we love and would do anything for some. These relationships, I believe, are blessings from God. God wants us to love others as we love ourselves absolutely. But, have you ever let yourself down? We all have. Why should we be surprised when we are hurt by someone else we love? I said surprised, not hurt. But in that hurt must be unconditional love. Love that keeps no record and holds no grudge.(1 Corinthians 13)


Forgiveness lives in God's presence-where we are supposed to be living. So, when our hearts are crushed by a loved family member or friend, we must go to the Father, humble ourselves under His hand and trust Him to lift us up(1 Peter 5:6&7).


If our confidence is in the Lord-if we really confide in Him in that deep place that He has reserved for each of us, healing is alive.


When we do not confess a sin, what happens? There is a temporary wall. God is always there but our own sinful reluctance to confess puts a wall up. Confess and the wall is gone. Is it not the same with human beings we have trusted but who have 'let us down'? There will be a dividing wall between us until we reconcile.

Yes, it hurts more than anyone else knows. But God knows--we have done the same with Him(ouch). Why spend time on anything else but making it right? It makes no sense.


Reconciliation may be hard, but it is what Jesus died for-so we could be reconciled(or 'made right') to God:

2 Corinthians 5:19...namely, that God was in Christ reconciling the world to Himself, not counting their trespasses against them, and He has committed to us the word of reconciliation,


AND so we could have this ministry of reconciliation:

2 Corinthians 5:18 Now all these things are from God, who reconciled us to Himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation,


Remember,

Forgive me my tresspasses as I forgive those who trespass against

me. (Matthew 6:12-14)


Who is holding you up-people or God? It is time to get it right.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Forgive me for letting my hurt divide me from those I have depended on-forgive me for letting my emotions and sin divide You and me. I want to live in that place you have set aside for me.

Glorious and loving Master and Friend,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen




Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page