top of page

Bread From Heaven

Friday, ‎January ‎27, ‎2023

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ.—2 Corinthians 10:5

Memory verse: 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

16 Rejoice always, 17 pray without ceasing, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

Readings: EXODUS 16-18 MATTHEW 18:1-20


Bread From Heaven


Just off the old 'jockey lot' in Mckinney, Texas was an old grocery store where a lot of the locals bought their groceries. They were running a special on whole chickens: $.19/lb., limit 2/Saturday only-


My Mom saw that in the Courier Gazette and, of course, made plans to go 'up town' to Mckinney from Allen and to get a couple of chickens-one to eat and the other for the freezer.(we had chickens in the freezer that we had raised ourselves but she said she couldn't raise them for that, so...)


In line at the register, enjoying the great smell of fruit and vegetables that only comes with an old hardwood floor, I noticed a little, old-man(in over-alls) standing behind a woman who was carrying 2 dressed chickens. The man was so excited as he repeated, "Chicken on Sunday and everything's all right". (It was the first time I had ever felt what I learned later to be compassion for a person with 'special needs.")


You could say Moses was surrounded by a people of special needs, as I believe we all truly are, in the children of Israel. They had been slaves for 400 years and now they were blindly following Moses and Aaron into the wilderness-a world they did not know. Ignorant and emotional and complaining about everything they followed. No food-no water-no one telling them every move to make-they could not function without complaining.


God said, "Behold, I am about to rain bread from heaven for you, and the people shall go out and gather a day's portion every day, that I may test them, whether they will walk in my law or not."


The Lord taught us to pray, "Give us this day our daily bread" Matthew 6:11


God also said, "I know my plans for you...I have good plans for you. I don’t plan to hurt you. I plan to give you hope and a good future. Jeremiah 29:11


Manna appeared on the ground and the people gathered an 'omer' for each person. If some gathered less or more than the Lord said, the Lord made them all equal.


Exodus 16:18 But when they measured it with an omer, whoever gathered much had nothing left over, and whoever gathered little had no lack.


Each of them gathered the Lord's measure.


The question for us all today is, "Have we gathered all the Lord intends for us to gather?"


Have we even asked for this day's bread?


Have we even tried to gather His bread for us?


We must know that the Lord has it-He says ask and we shall receive- so we need to ask already. But--I believe the Lord's bread for us today can only be realized today. It cannot be found tomorrow. If we miss it today, we simply miss it. There is a great urgency here. We must ask God for His daily bread for us, gather it, and employ it as God leads. Tomorrow holds an entirely new supply and mission.


"I am going to rain bread from Heaven."---Do you understand? God's business is provision for us and our business is to obey and gather and share.


...because He would that none should perish...


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Forgive me for not looking, asking, expecting, sharing the way I should. Give me limitless desire to get all I can get from Your heart-today.

Great Father and provider!

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen



Kommentare


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page