top of page

Behind The Mirror

Sunday, ‎March ‎19, ‎2023

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: O God, You are my God; early will I seek You; my soul thirsts for You; my flesh longs for You in a dry and thirsty land where there is no water. So I have looked for You in the sanctuary, to see Your power and Your glory.—Psalm 63:1-2

Memory of the Month: 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

16 Rejoice always, 17 pray without ceasing, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

Today's reading: JOSHUA 1-3 MARK 16


Behind The Mirror


Let's talk about that one person. You may have to stop and close your eyes and think back for this face or it may be instantly on the back of your eyelids. It is he or she who has always been the one-the one who irritates you the most no matter how hard you deny it. The one who was smarter, or fancier, or more clever than you. The one who could always talk down to you while making everyone else laugh. The man or woman who held more sway with the group you were in.


You have known their flaws and have talked under your breath about them but not publicly. You would like to see them embarrassed just once-the way they have done you so long ago. Or, maybe you have such hate for them that you would like to see them in ruin.


The one in your field of expertise who has a better handle on the politics of the company-the one in the family who has control of the money-the one at church who has all the answers.


As I prayed today, that face came up. God hit me with the one I just cannot abide. God showed me the one that needs the most prayer-the one who needs the most work-the one whose sin has stopped spiritual growth from proceeding. God showed me, me...me the one who has been the cause of my problems since the beginning.


On my face-pour out the sin before God-cry out for His mercy-search back for anything I have tried to hide from myself(He already knows it)but have hidden in denial. I am back to truth before God instead of denial before the mirror.


God says unless I forgive, I will not be forgiven. (Matthew 6:15 But if you do not forgive others their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.) That one who is my worst thought eithers stays that way or does not by the one who is my worst problem-me.


You may say this is beating up on myself-and-I expect that-and, really, I don't care as long as it makes you look past the mirror-the song says, "There's more behind the mirror than the wall."


So, Stop judging me long enough to be truthful about your self-in front of God-He's just on the other side of the mirror-patiently 'longsuffering' all of us until the time we can be absolutely truthful with Him.


And then-poof-all pretense is gone- ego evaporated-sin gone-and we are in God's throne room without another word to say-just hearts that wait to hear a word from His heart for us.


If you are not in God's presence, there is only one person in the way-you. Get out of the way and you will see God.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

I am in the way-forgive my desire for control-show me, step by step, how to get out of the way so I can see you.

Gracious and patient Father,

In the name of Jesus,

Amen



Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget

Kerrville, TX 78028, USA

©2017 by Good Morning, Lord. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page