top of page

And He Chooses Us

‎Saturday, ‎January ‎16, ‎2021

Good Morning, Lord

Verse of the Day:   Matthew 11: 28 Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.

Memory of the month:  Isaiah 41:13 For I, the LORD your God, hold your right hand; it is I who say to you, “Fear not, I am the one who helps you.”

Today's reading: GENESIS 39-40 MATTHEW 11



To Whom The Son Chooses(...and He chooses us)



Jesus said, "I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance."Luke 5:32


Jesus means here that He has not come to save those who think they already have all the answers. He has not come to save those who believe they are already holy-they have their minds set in stone by their sin-they have no humility.



He has come to save those who readily admit they do not have any answers and are in need of saving-they need salvation-they need a savior. They, in total humility, admit their sin.



In Matthew 11, Jesus makes another such statement, " ...you have hidden these things from the wise and understanding and revealed them to little children;"


The 'unteachable' are the ones who think they know it all-the 'wise and understanding'.



This is life and wisdom to those considered by the wisdom of the world to be 'lost causes' or 'deplorables'. Those who hear and receive the life in Christ have the treasure of all ages-eternal life in Christ. After entering God's family, God invites us into the vault-His heart-where is kept all the wisdom of the ages just for us. But how do we learn?


"None of us can expect to get the rich, transforming blessings from God apart from the Scriptures...."A.W. Tozer



A lot of folks get excited and jump in and soak up much and then start to teach and share with much noise and activity. We cannot allow ourselves to be drawn into what Jesus did not come for-for us to become prideful and haughty.


James 4:6 ►But he gives us more grace. That is why Scripture says: "God opposes the proud but shows favor to the humble."


More grace? Yes, more grace; more grace is given us to deal with pain and trial but also to prevent pride and prejudice-to keep our egos in check(to keep us from getting too big for our spiritual pants).



Jesus went off to solitary places to pray. Why? No distractions from the world-no busy crowds with men and women of many words. It is absolutely necessary to gather together for the breaking of bread and study and prayer as it is taught in scripture but we also believe we must seek out quiet times.


"I do not believe it is stretching a point at all to say that we will most often hear from God in those times when we are silent."-Tozer



I quote A.W. Tozer often-why? He wrote 40 books. He is well respected among theologians-HE-ALSO-BEGAN HIS MINISTRY WITHOUT SEMINARY EDUCATION-HE WAS A HIGH SCHOOL GRADUATE WHO STUDIED GOD'S WORD AND PRAYED A LOT-AND LISTENED.


I get it-outside of our soul's being equal before God, no two people are created equal but we all have 24 hours in a day and we have all the opportunities we can use-we will use all opportunity we choose to commit to.



I do not believe any of us are meant to just sit in church and soak or appear to be soaking. I believe that our strength is built in times alone with God and in clinging to God as we experience victory and defeat. Strength is seen more in times of holding your tongue than in unleashing it.



Matthew 11, Jesus says, "... yes, Father, for such was your gracious will. All things have been handed over to me by my Father, and no one knows the Son except the Father, and no one knows the Father except the Son and anyone to whom the Son chooses to reveal him.



You, we, have been chosen for this: "Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.”



It is not about who we are in this world...it is who we are in God's world-


who we are in His heart and who God is in ours.



...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Take my sin, I'm sorry for it. Teach me to be still and listen and keep my head from getting bigger.

Merciful God of all humility!

In the name of Jesus,

Amen


Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page