top of page

Always Ready

Tuesday, ‎February ‎28, ‎2023

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: 1 John 3:18

My little children, let us not love in word or in tongue, but in deed and in truth.

Memory of the Month: 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

16 Rejoice always, 17 pray without ceasing, 18 give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.

Today's reading: NUMBERS 17-19 MARK 6:30-56


Always Ready


I was about 12 and as usual I was out with my Dad as on any Saturday working or looking at work. We were at a ranch just south of Allen. A wealthy man had bought the place and was building new fences and roads and Daddy was bidding on the roads. I was introduced to the man and shook his hand. He saw I was looking at the bundle of new leather gloves on the tailgate of his truck and told me to take a pair and I replied, "Oh thank you, I couldn't do that".


The man looked at me and said, "Boy, in this world if someone offers you something it's because they want to. You need to take advantage to better yourself."


My Dad told me it was O.K. and I took a pair.


The Lord has not given us a spirit of fear.(2 Timothy 1:7-10)

The Lord has given us a spirit of a sound mind and power and love.


We do not have to take it but, in Christ Jesus, His salvation is ours to receive. But even though we may not 'feel' worthy, our heavenly Father wants nothing more. None of us are worthy of our own merit. Jesus died to make it possible.


I had to put my hands in those gloves for them to do me any good at all. I could have kept them on a shelf in my room and just been proud of my first leather gloves but they would have been of no practical use at all. The gloves would have been gathering dust-like so many books we now have on shelves.


The word of God is the key to our knowing the heart and mind of Christ. It is not intended to gather dust on the shelves with so many other books.


The owner of the cattle on a thousand hills(Psalm 50:7-15) wants you to take the 'gloves' He has offered and use them to become the one He has intended. He says that this is right and that you are ready.


Some reading this will acknowledge that we have become gloves on the hands of God to be moved and used as God wills. But it is an everyday choice we must make. Ask God to fill you and use you as you live this day. Many of us are short on desire because we have lost touch. God loves you and is merciful and forgiving. Just be truthful with Him. He is always ready to forgive and start anew-right now-clean slate-always and forever ready.


...because He loves us...


Our Father in Heaven,

Forgive me for trying to do this life on my own.

I want to desire what You want for me and use the mind of Christ for Your kingdom. Forgive me for being afraid and lazy.

Merciful and great Father!

In Jesus' name,

Amen




Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page