top of page

All That We do

Saturday, ‎September ‎3, ‎2022 Good morning, Lord Verse of the Day: John 1:12 But as many as received Him, to them He gave the right to become children of God, to those who believe in His name Memory verse: Romans 12:1: Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship. Today's reading: PSALM 140-142 1 CORINTHIANS 14:1-20 All That We Do As a child I followed my Dad around as we all worked and lived. I say 'worked' because much of my early memories of life are those of really working. At six years, I followed my Dad as he would sit up on the machine and dig ditches. I followed in the ditch with a shovel and kept the bottom of the ditch clean. He was a stern man on the job and at home but he was always the teacher. He taught me every idea I have about working: Don't hurt yourself but keep steadily moving. There's always something that needs to be done. Don't move the same dirt more than once or don't waste motion. Learn to do it right the first time. It is called work-not play-that comes after work. Take care of the people around you-watch out for your fellow workers and help them learn. Treat people fairly. Be good to folks. But, if a man will not work, he will be told not to come back. "If a man don't work, he don't eat". The truth will always come out-so don't lie. He would say, "If a man will lie to you, he will steal from you." Faith in you as an employee or 'hand' has to be earned-and that takes a while, but don't give up. Do what you say you will do. There is always a solution. Never let them hear you say, 'I can't". There's always a 'way', so find it and get it done. This is just a sampling of what I learned from my Dad and it is to make us think of what we say and do everyday. Whether you are a parent or not, someone is watching and listening and all is being recorded in their mind. So much is hidden these days mostly because folks do not want to be 'found out'. What a horrible way to live. Even with what is going on in our country today, hoards flood across our borders. Why? People believe that America will always stand for freedom and equality and that all will be given the opportunity to better themselves because they come from such deplorable conditions. Many of our pioneering forefathers came here and, at first, many starved to death. How many people will come across our borders and 'starve'-spiritually starve. They come here starving and yearning for freedom-looking for a better life. But they won't trust simply the first hand that gives them food-no-that trust must be earned. We must do what we say we will do. We must live an honorable life before them. I only quoted my Dad a couple of times. That is because the rest was observed-learned from his actions day in and day out-but I did not miss a thing. Paul wrote in 1 Corinthians 11:1: 1 "You are to imitate me, just as I imitate Christ." (Imitate-not parrot.) Jesus said in Luke 12:12 "The Holy Spirit will give you the words to say at the moment when you need them." I am not suggesting that we not quote scripture. I do that constantly. It is God's word. I wish I had the entire Bible memorized so I wouldn't have to look things up but that's not the point. We are to move when Jesus says move-speak when He gives us the words. 1 John 2:6 5 But if anyone keeps His word, the love of God has been truly perfected in him. By this we know that we are in Him: 6 Whoever claims to abide in Him must walk as Jesus walked. That does not say "talk as Jesus talked"-it says 'walk'. If we keep His word-His word is alive in us and we walk as He did-and speak only when He gives us words-and He always gives us the right words-or the peace of silence. People are watching and listening. If we walk as Jesus walked and speak the words He gives us, what will they remember? Now, it does no good to lament our words of the past. If we have confessed, it is over and never remembered by God. It is hard to regain the lost trust of a human being. So, let God handle that. We must live in Him. Love. 1 Peter 4:8 And above all things have fervent love for one another, for “love will cover a multitude of sins.” Love-whether it is returned or not is not to be our concern. Our concern is to walk as Jesus walked. This they will remember... ...because he loves us... Father in Heaven, Forgive me my loose tongue and my worthless motions. My sin is always before me. I confess. Your life is my freedom-my only freedom. Merciful and loving friend, my God, In the name of Christ Jesus, Amen




コメント


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page