top of page

A Precious Relationship

Thursday, May 23,2024


  Good morning, Lord


Verse of the Day: Galatians 5:13

For you, brethren, have been called to liberty; only do not use liberty as an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another.


Memory verse: Psalm 90:14

14 Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days.  


Today's reading: 1 CHRONICLES 22-24 JOHN 8:28-59


A Precious Relationship


John 10:14–15  “I am the good shepherd. I know my own and my own know me, just as the Father knows me and I know the Father.”


Have you ever lost someone you love in a crowd? You search and search and then comes the moment when you recognize that familiar face and then comes the great relief.


The Lord never loses us in a crowd but that is how he knows us. Not just our face is familiar to the Lord-He knows our hearts and minds. He knows us intimately. He loves us so completely.

“My sheep hear my voice, and I know them.” (John 10:27)

John 10:27 "My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me."


God the father knows Jesus and Jesus knows Him and we know Jesus and Jesus knows us.


The word know in the Bible has a much deeper meaning than simply the intellectual 'knowing'. It means to experience deeply, simply put.


Micah 6:5 My people..., remember your journey..., that you may know the righteous acts of the LORD.”


The Lord knows us completely even from our very beginning:

13 "For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb." Psalm 139


Christ makes our knowing God possible:

John 14:7 "If you really know me, you will know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.”

Our salvation depends on our knowing God:

John 17:3 "Now this is eternal life: that they know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom you have sent."

Paul voices His need, (and our need), to know Christ Jesus intimately:

Philippians 3:10 "I want to know Christ—yes, to know the power of his resurrection and participation in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, 11 and so, somehow, attaining to the resurrection from the dead."

Paul says that he wants to know Christ as well as he can which gives us our direction. We must know Christ as well as we can-to dig and learn things and pray and know His presence. We must learn what it means to rest in Christ's all sufficient peace and strength in the middle of our hardest times.

Our Lord is always with us and always doing good to us and inspiring us.(Jeremiah 32:40)


Learn and know Jesus.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Teach me-let me learn as much of You as I can possibly know. Have mercy on me with my sin of thinking I know enough to get by. I don't. You are everything and I know so little.

Good and Kind and great God,

In the name of Christ jesus,

Amen



Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page