top of page

Joy

SATURDAY, May 20, 2023

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Romans 15:5-6 New King James Version

Now may the God of patience and comfort grant you to be like-minded toward one another, according to Christ Jesus, that you may with one mind and one mouth glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ.

Memory of the Month: John 10:27-28

27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: 28 And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.

Today's reading: 1 CHRONICLES 10-12 JOHN 6:45-71


Captivating Joy


Luke 4:18 ►(Jesus said) "The Spirit of the Lord is on me, because he has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners and recovery of sight for the blind, to set the oppressed free..."


If Jesus came to set the captives free, why did Paul have to write the book of Philippians from his cell in Rome while chained to a guard?


Paul writes in Philippians, chapter 1, "...in truth, Christ is proclaimed, and in this I rejoice. But not only that, I also will rejoice, 19 for I know that this will turn out for my deliverance through your prayers and the provision of the Spirit of Jesus Christ, 20 according to my eager expectation and hope, that I will not be put to shame in anything, but that with all boldness, Christ will even now, as always, be exalted in my body, whether by life or by death."


Paul lived the difference. What? If we are not 'walking as Jesus walked', we use the mind of our natural or carnal man. Natural man hears Jesus say that He has come to proclaim freedom for the prisoners and thinks that all the jail cells would be opened. Why, then, did Paul wind up in chains? Why was he not set free by the power of God?


Paul is set free by the power of God. That is the whole point. Paul wrote of rejoicing why he was chained to a guard. He wrote, "I will not be put to shame in anything, but that with all boldness, Christ will even now, as always, be exalted in my body, whether by life or by death."


Paul's future was uncertain at very best. He wanted the Philippians to know that no matter what happened-He was Free-no matter the hardships or pain-he was rejoicing in the gospel of Christ.


Yes, Paul could have been down and depressed because he had every reason to be. Paul knew that earthly happiness is based on temporary circumstances and Divine joy comes from a thriving relationship with His Lord Jesus-our Lord Jesus.


Joy is a fruit of the Spirit, Galatians 5:22,23, and unless we are in the Spirit's power from a consistent and conscious relationship with Christ, we are 'earthbound' to the lies of the world. This leads millions to seek temporal 'happiness' that is up and down with the next trial or sickness or loss.


And, yes, our joy can be hidden by sudden calamities, but, the very second our minds return to Him, so does His joy. Our joy depends on our consciousness of Him.

Jesus said, "38 Whoever believes in me, as the Scripture has said, ‘Out of his heart will flow rivers of living water'".


Our lives in Christ are to be lives of constant belief-this is 'God-consciousness'. The fruits of the Spirit are a living river of life running through us-not a canal with locks that stop the flow-a free living river that never ceases.


Our sins are like locks in a canal. Sin stops the flow of the Lord God's river.

Zechariah 1:3 ►Therefore tell the people: This is what the LORD Almighty says: ‘Return to me,’ declares the LORD Almighty, ‘and I will return to you,’ says the LORD Almighty.


Even His name, 'The Lord Almighty', tells us He is mightier than any earthly pain or trouble that may hit us.


Be conscious of God-stay conscious of God-learn to love His presence and you will become as Paul-rejoicing in the middle of whatever may befall you.


God desires your 'sight of Him'-look to Him.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

I confess, I look at the world and not to You so often. Teach me to focus on You and Your Spirit in my life and let me learn what the 'River of Living Water' really is in my life.

Constant companion and Divine friend,

In the name of my Lord Jesus,

Amen




Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page