top of page

If...

Friday, ‎September ‎16, ‎2022

Good morning, Lord

Verse of the Day: Ephesians 2:8-9 For by grace you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is the gift of God, 9 not of works, lest anyone should boast.

Memory verse: Romans 12:1: Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship.

Today's reading: PROVERBS 25-26 2 CORINTHIANS 9


If...


Matthew 14:28 ►“Lord, if it’s you,” Peter replied, “tell me to come to you on the water.”

There is a difference between judging someone and learning from someone else's mistakes. It is not judging Peter to know what He did wrong-which was:

Matthew 14:30 But when he saw the strength of the wind, he was afraid.

Judging would be to go ahead and say that Peter got what he deserved-he sinned, so, he deserved to sink...


There are so many lessons in this.

1. Peter was of the greatest faith of all in the boat and He called out to Jesus, "If it is You..." Really Peter? "If it is You..."-If-

If it had been the enemy masquerading as Jesus, would he not have called out to Peter just to see him sink? I think so. That is the enemy's job-to see us sink. What does this tell us? Peter knew it was Jesus but still had an 'if' in his mind. He still had fear and doubt which set him up to sink. But Jesus knew this and still let Peter walk on the water a little before the fear overtook Peter and he began to sink.

(This is a picture of a child learning to walk. They are unsteady and feel it but because the adults are encouraging them, telling them they can do it, they take the next step. Do we judge a child for falling? No, because they must learn and grow from the falls and grow stronger)

2. Even with his doubts, Peter had said to Jesus, "Command me to come to You on the water". In other words, "Jesus, Your word is my command-I will obey".

The other disciples did not say a word but I venture to say there was more than one of them who thought Peter was crazy.

Many times, we judge someone for their faith and courage, calling them crazy or 'fanatic' which betrays our own fears and weaknesses. How often have we stood off at a distance and laughed at someone's failure and said, "I could see that coming...knew that would happen", but in our silent thoughts wished we had had the courage to try?

3. Peter admitted his mistake and cried out to Jesus. The world says, "Never let them see you sweat-never let your weakness show".

Exodus 22:23 If you do and they cry out to me, I will certainly hear their cry.

Jeremiah 29:12 Then you will call upon Me and come and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.…

Jeremiah 29:12 ►Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you.


We must know that we all have doubts and fears and will have as long as we are in these imperfect forms but we must say to the Lord Jesus, "Your will is my command'.

When we sink, it is no time to disappear under the waves in shame to hide-we must call out quickly and take our Master's hand and see His miraculous power calm the storm in our hearts.


...because He loves us...


Father in Heaven,

Forgive for fearing the winds around me and for judging those who 'take chances'. Take my hand. Your word is my command.

Mighty God of assurance and courage,

In the name of Christ Jesus,

Amen






Comments


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page