top of page

The Joshua Stone


‎Monday, ‎March ‎26, ‎2018 Today's reading: Joshua 22-24 Luke 3 M.O.M.: Matthew 6:33 But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be added unto you. V.O.D.: Philippians 1:29 New King James Version For to you it has been granted on behalf of Christ, not only to believe in Him, but also to suffer for His sake,

The Joshua Stone

The fighting was finally over for the nation of Israel. Joshua called all of the leaders together and challenged them all.

Joshua 24:15 "But if serving the Lord seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your ancestors served beyond the Euphrates, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the Lord.”

As a sign of their commitment to the Lord, Joshua set up a stone as a sign and said: “See!” he said to all the people. “This stone will be a witness against us. It has heard all the words the Lord has said to us. It will be a witness against you if you are untrue to your God.”(Joshua 24)

After Christ, there is no visible 'Joshua stone' to remind us of our sin. We are blessed to have our 'Joshua stone' in our hearts.

Jesus said, "But when the Comforter is come, whom I will send unto you from the Father, even the Spirit of truth, which proceedeth from the Father, he shall testify of me." (John 15:26)

I fear we do not cherish this reality-- the divine personal presence of God in our hearts. A divine blessing has been given to us.

We do not have a large rock set up beside the road to remind us. We have the very Spirit of God living in our hearts.

God has delivered us through whatever life was before Christ in our lives and continues to deliver us through the struggles of this life.

But, everyday, we must make the same choice the Israelites made on that day so long ago- Joshua said, "...choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve...".(Joshua 24:15 ) Jesus said, " Then he said to them all: “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow me."(Luke 9:23)

Psalm 18:2 ►The LORD is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.

...our Joshua stone...

...because He loves us...

Oh, sovereign God, Grant me clear sight to see You in my life constantly-to keep You in the front of my thoughts always. Fill my heart with praise and worship! Mighty God of endless presence and power! In Christ Jesus name, Amen

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page